We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great chef, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fausto's

Fausto's
4 Holloway street, Minehead, Exmoor National Park TA24 5NP, England (Formerly Zest)
01643 706372
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 70 restaurants in Minehead
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant taken over from Zest, with new management. Serving Italian and European Cusine, using local ingredients where possible. Now also serving fresh fish and seafood, and beautiful steaks from a local producer. Our specials board is updated frequently. We cater for small to medium size parties, and our restaurant is ideal for birthdays, anniversaries and other special ocassions. Our restaurant has recently been redecorated and offers a cosy feel, with friendly service and freshly prepared food.
Somerset, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great chef, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just got back from Fausto's where we took my daughter at her request for her 16th birthday meal. The table had been decorated with party poppers, balloon and banners and a card for her. What a lovely touch! The scallop, black pudding and bacon starter was fantastic as was the onion soup. Chicken, duck and carbonara main courses were spot on, beautifully presented and super tasty. A lovely evening where we were well looked after and most importantly, beautiful food. Would highly recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear MineheadMaiden, thanks for taking the time to review us. We are so happy that your daughter and your party had a lovely time and enjoyed our food and service. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you all again soon. Best wishes Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    88
    26
    7
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
redditch
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived and were able to get a table for 2, without booking, the starters arrived very promptly and were very nice, we then both had pasta dishes, cooked perfectly, my seafood pasta was delicious, with lots of fresh white fish, prawn, muscles etc very nice i would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your food so much. If you visit us again, please let us know how we can improve your score, as we would love everybody to go home happy and come back to us. Best wishes Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Exceptional All Rounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

After looking at the latest reviews on Tripadvisor we booked this restaurant while we were staying in minehead. Our party included adults, a baby and two young children. The first thing that was apparent when we arrived was that the place was very welcoming towards children. We ordered a range of starters, pasta mains and fillet steaks between us all. Everyone in the group commented that all the dishes were of fantastic quality , the experience was enhanced by the friendly service. Some of the older reviews on Tripadvisor relate to the previous owners otherwise this would probably be number 1 in Minehead. I wish the owners continued success as its good to see nice people do well. The bill was surprisingly great value for money too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Carl, first of all sorry for the late response on my behalf. It has been an absolute pleasure to have you and your family eating with us. The kids were all so well behaved, and so were the adults, lol. We always welcome children and families, it is part of who we are. Thank you so much for your comments about the staff and the food, we really appreciate it and also the comments about the old reviews. Hopefully you will visit Minehead again and we look forward to seeing you all again. Best wishes Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow - what a gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We've just discovered this hidden gem of a restaurant. What lovely, tasty, fresh, perfectly cooked food, great friendly helpful service and fantastic atmosphere. The scallop, bacon and black pudding starter is truly the best starter I've ever eaten. We went on Friday and Saturday night (the restaurant was packed out both nights) and on each night one or two of our party had the fillet steak, which was locally sourced, completely melt in the mouth and perfectly cooked. The fish tasted fresh off the boat and the puddings were to die for. As for the tomato sauce base for the pasta - well, what a depth of flavour. You could just tell that it had been slowly and lovingly reduced down. Our children (age 5 and 3) ate chicken and pasta, and the chef made them both to their exact requirements. The staff went out of their way to make the children feel welcome and at home. What a fantastic place - Minehead's finest!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Sarah, I only just realised that I had not written a response to your lovely review. Please accept my apologies. Thank you so much for coming to see us, we had a great night with you all. The kids were so lovely behaved. Hopefully you will be back to Minehead in the future. We would certainly love to see you all again. It is so nice to receive such kind and great reviews, as it makes all our hard work worth while. Best wishes Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place, great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This restaurant is a real gem. We did not book and arrived early. We were just walking through Minehead looking for somewhere to eat and decided to take a punt on Fausto's and we were really glad we did. From the time we walked in, the staff were attentive and really pleasant even though the restaurant quickly filled up - I think most were reservations. The choice of menu was extensive for a place this size and the food absolutely wonderful - good portion sizes, great flavour and taste. Biggest surprise was the bill, which was considerably less than I expected for food, drink and service of this quality. We could not recommend this restaurant highly enough - one of the best Italian meals we have ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole H, Owner at Fausto's, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Firstly my apologies for not replying to your amazing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your evening with us. We work hard to source great local ingredients and cook everything fresh to order. Our staff will appreciate your comments, as they also try hard to make everybody's evening as enjoyable as possible. Hopefully you visit Minehead again in the future. We would love to see you again. All the best. Nicole and Fausto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fausto's also viewed

Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Minehead, Exmoor National Park
 
Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Minehead, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Fausto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fausto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.