We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hindon Organic Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hindon Organic Farm
Save
You added Hindon Organic Farm to your Saves list
Nr Selworthy | Exmoor National Park, Minehead TA24 8SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 Minehead B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I had wanted to visit a working farm for years. I have done all the luxury cruises and good hotels but always feel more at home in the countryside. I couldn't have chosen a better farm for my first experience. We had a lovely time and were made to feel thoroughly at home. The whole place was charming in every respect, the food was lovely and we were very impressed by the animals all living together in calm and harmony. Thanks so much Penny and Roger!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
How nice of you to take the time to write this review - it was our pleasure to welcome you and we are so pleased you enjoyed what we have to offer here and look forward to seeing you both again soon, warm regards, Roger and Penny Webber . REAL FARM - REAL FOOD - RELAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southsea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Our aim was to spend a few days recharging the batteries after a house move. Hindon Farm looked idyllic and the description promised much. Unfortunately it did not live up to expectation.
The location is stunning - two miles from Minehead but completely surrounded by hills with direct access to the coastal path - and the farmhouse picturesque. However it needs a thorough clean: dingy front door leading to a dirty interior (cobwebs, dust, dog hairs everywhere, including as an accompaniment to breakfast), doggy smell as the front door opened. Even the boxes of tea and other drinks provided looked as if they'd been around for a very long time.
The room, with a view over the farmyard to trees, had a comfortable, if squeaky, bed and the sheets were clean. But the furnishings were cheap, shabby and grubby, not stylish at all.
It was only on the final day of our stay that we managed to get the room serviced. This is the first time we have ever encountered room service as an option when staying in a B&B, even on a working farm.
Our pamper break got off to a poor start when the landlady contacted us two days before we were due to ask us to 'upgrade' to self-catering - no breakfast to be provided. We offered to cancel but were assured that it would be fine.Once there it rapidly became clear that we were in the way. We were offered the use of the Aga to dry walking gear but a request to borrow a hairdrier wasn't well received. Thee landlady told us off for using too much wood on the fire, even though it was her husband who had added the wood to the fire.
We were offered soup on our last evening, which as the weather was dreadful, we accepted. It came with a sausage each. The following morning we were asked for £7.50 each for the privilege.
We were asked to pay the balance of our holiday in cash and 'we didn't need a receipt, did we'.
All in all, oversold and overpriced. More off hand than hands off.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Happy New Year - how terribly disappointing to have guests we thought were perfectly happy and who we really made welcome write this type of review -

*our house is a farming family home but it does not smell of dogs, none of ours go into the guests sitting areas - please potential guests see our photos on website and make an intelligent opinion yourselves.
We offer a NON hotel atmosphere with nice surroundings and top quality food.
* At no time was the 'landlady' (never been called that before my name is Penny ) telling anyone off, just remarking that there was a really good and very hot log fire and not to over load it for safety reasons .
If you interpreted Penny's response to being asked for a hairdryer, as a problem then sorry, expect she was just trying to think where it was.
* as it clearly states in the rooms if you would like your room serviced please ask as we respect guests privacy - you did not ask until the last day when it was happily done for you. Many of our guests really like this option.
We offer a large choice of packets of assorted teas and coffee, a fridge with a jug of organic milk to help yourselves to, and for guests use, if hotel sachets are the preference then please do not stay here.
* as to the price of £7.50 for your large homemade soup made fresh for you with chunks of organic bread and our homemade sausages - may we suggest cheaper and less quality food can be found elsewhere.
* our policy is to ask for cheque with card or cash when guests are to settle their account and as is customary we ask & offer a receipt.

If at any time any guests are unhappy or have a problem then we try our best to help if we do not know then we cannot help whilst they are here.
REAL FARM - REAL FOOD - RELAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Just returned from a long weekend here in the self catering cottage and we have had a lovely, relaxing break. The cottage has a real warm and homely feel and we felt at home straight away. We found a lovely hamper of goodies and in the fridge there was bacon and sausages from the farm (went down a treat at breakfast) The cottage is on a working farm and this time of year wellies are a must! We couldn't wait to put ours on and explore the superb surroundings. The cottage is just the ticket for anyone wanting to 'get away from it all'. Many thanks to Penny and Roger.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind words we are pleased you enjoyed your stay , warm regards
Penny & Roger Webber . Real Farm - Real Food - Relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Booked a long weekend here in the B & B, along with our recenlty adopted very lively 10 month-old collie Sarah, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Couldn't have wished for a better place. We arrived late having been held up on the way but were greated with a friendly note on the door directing us to our room. Then were welcomed personally by Roger (and several of the dogs!) and made to feel very much at home. Everything was exactly as described on the website and the breakfast and company fantastic. To those who have given less than positive reviews, I can only say that they should perhaps read the description and reviews more carefully.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Just returned from a few days in the self catering cottage. We chose here for a couple of reasons, firstly it is very dog-friendly and secondly the location. It is in a fantastic setting, very isolated yet at the same time a short distance to the beach and walks that we wanted for the dogs.

Some of the reviews here are remarkable in complaining about the track used to access the farm, complaining about a lack of keys etc etc. This is precisely why we liked it, we didn't feel the need to lock the doors at all and loved the isolation.

When we arrived Roger drove by in his Land Rover and asked if we had found everything and that was really the last we saw of him - this is not a complaint as it is exactly how it should be and we were left to get on with our holiday in peace.

On arrival there was a great basket with fruit, eggs fresh bread, butter and a cake and in the fridge bacon and sausage from their Old Spot pigs - really lovely.

Also great to see animals farmed the way they should be - the Old Spot piglets were adorable !

Only one piece of nit-picking criticism ! Internet connection would have been great - but of course that is purely personal and very minor point.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in the self-catering cottage along with our three dogs. We loved the cottage and it was exactly as we expected and steeped in character. The fully enclosed garden was perfect to be able to relax without worrying about the dogs escaping! Penny and Roger had provided a welcome hamper which was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. As mentioned in an earlier review the track was long and narrow but in my opinion is part and parcel of living in the country and didn’t pose a problem for us. It was amazing to wake up to the birds and seeing the horses in the field opposite. We loved the location as it provided easy access to the beach and to Exmoor. It was the first time we had visited this part of the country on holiday and would go again. Totally fell in love with the piglets and it was great to see a working farm. So overall really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Thanks Penny and Roger.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Perfect place for a short family break. We had a very warm welcome from Roger and Penny and within a short time we felt very at home on the farm. Being animal lovers, we loved seeing the piglets, and playing with the friendly dogs.

Breakfast was outstanding with a huge variety of organic produce to suit all our varied tastes! The rooms were very comfortable.The farmhouse is in a great location for walking and exploring the local area which is very beautiful. We would recommend the walk to Selworthy Beacon from the farm for its fantastic view!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hindonfarm, Owner at Hindon Organic Farm, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Thank you - you were a joy to have stay, a real farm in a glorious location with real food served with a smile - well most of the time!!! See u again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hindon Organic Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindon Organic Farm

Address: Nr Selworthy | Exmoor National Park, Minehead TA24 8SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Real Farm - Real Food - Relax.... Idyllic location on top award winning organic farm, luxury B&B 18th century farmhouse charm with 21st century style and comforts. Food Heros and Beautiful farm award winners. Choose Breakfast from - Homemade finest sausages,own bacon, fresh baked bread, eggs from our chickens, own muesli, fresh fruit & yogurt, also specials. Many farm animals, wonderful walks direct form the door to the coast path and moor, relax in our outdoor Hot Tub bubbles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hindon Organic Farm Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hindon Organic Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.