We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spring Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Wheddon Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Wheddon Farm
Save
You added North Wheddon Farm to your Saves list
Wheddon Cross, Minehead TA24 7EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wiltshire, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Spring Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd springtime visit to North Wheddon Farm and everything was perfect once again. Rachael and Julian are charming hosts, the rooms are well-appointed and the locally-sourced food of the highest quality. There is little to add beyond what other reviewers say. This B&B is an ideal base for a visit to one of the most beautiful parts of England - and to have dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
61
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great 3 night stay with friendly welcome. We were looked after very well - nothing too much trouble. We had lovely food cooked with local produce, sitting before a log fire whilst we ate! Very comfortable room with ensuite. Enjoyed seeing all the animals. Amazed at how they have their own names!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Went for a 3 day break to celebrate my 50th birthday. This place was amazing,Julian and Rachael were amazing hosts who really made us feel at home in every way. The food was awesome and nothing was to much trouble for them. Will definitely be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thks very much glad you enjoyed your 50th with us see you again very soon , Rachael & Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our favourite venue for a short break on Exmoor. We are now welcomed as friends, having visited North Wheddon Farm several times in recent years. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is excellent, offering much home produce. Always tasty and superbly presented! We always return to south Devon after our Exmoor 'fix' with Rachael and Julian.
Ray & Georgie

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thks Ray & Georgie - glad you enjoyed your return visit – see again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanreath, Looe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Warm friendly greeting with a cup of tea and a welcoming fire. Comfortable bedroom, fantastic home produced evening meal; friendly pub nearby with pub grub. Ideal location for Exmoor trekking with the hound.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Jacqui and I took advantage of Rachel's out of season offer and had a brilliant stay. Julian and Rachel both cook and present the food beautifully, to a much higher standard than one should expect from a Bed & Breakfast and, of course, that part of Exmoor is wonderful.
We have previously used the self catering facility, which was also excellent.
Great to see Roxie still going and appreciating dried pasta.
I commend this Farm to all those who want to stay in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind review – so glad you enjoyed our out of season deal of £99.00 for 3 nights bed and breakfast with dinner on top. Hope to see you again very soon for either self-catering or B&B,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble here, superb service, amazing food and a personal touch that makes it a totally relaxing stay. From an offer to dry our drenched clothes next to the aga to the tour around the farm this truly is an exceptional place. The roaring fire while enjoying the top restaurant style food is a recipe for a post dinner snooze! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmoorman, Owner at North Wheddon Farm, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for you very kind comments, so glad you both enjoyed your visit. Come and see us again very soon – we will put another log on the fire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Wheddon Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Wheddon Farm

Address: Wheddon Cross, Minehead TA24 7EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Wheddon Farm is an ideal base to access the Exmoor and Devon area with it's fantastic beaches and stunning scenery just minutes way. We offer superb bed and breakfast accommodation within the farmhouse. In the grounds of the farm we have two self-catering properties, the Farthingwood Barn and the Eden Lodge.Here at North Wheddon we love to cook and are proud of our reputation. Food is very much 'River Cottage' style. If we can not grow it or raise it here on the farm, you can be sure it is locally sourced and the very best of quality. From home smoked bacon to our own Aga baked breads you won't go hungry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Wheddon Farm Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Wheddon Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.