We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yew Tree Cottage
Yew Tree Cottage
Yew Tree Cottage
Living room
Master bedroom with king size bed
Bedroom 2
Yew Tree Cottage
Minehead
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phil W
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, quiet, a great place to get away from our busy world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Yew Tree cottage is the most fantastic "get away from it all" place that we have stayed at in recent years. Cottage is beautifully presented with all modern appliances and incredibly spacious, plenty of room for both myself and my wife and our two teenage children. Our stay was typical of many british summers with the weather being changeable, but even on those times when we could not get out we were more than comfortable, cosy inside playing games or catching up with the Olympics.
Timberscombe village is small but the village pub was welcoming as were the many other places close to the village that you can eat at, or enjoy a lovely cream tea.
Many local beauty spots are close by and can easily be driven to in a short time, as were many of the local walks.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sar S
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage. Plenty of character.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Stayed for a week recently. The cottage has been tastefully refurbished retaining plenty of character. Arrived to milk in the fridge and a welcome basket with wine, biscuits, tea and coffee which I thought was a nice touch. Books and maps about the area were useful too.

The cottage is ample for 4 people. The lack of private parking is a bit of a negative in terms of bringing luggage/ shopping but we always found a space quite easily just up the road. The road adjoining the cottage, although a minor road, can be noisy early in the morning and in the evening. The church across the road also has some very enthusiastic bellringers (!) but it didn't really bother me. The owners were nice to deal with and efficient. As they were keen to receive feedback I think the minor quibbles I had will be dealt with.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Character, the range, the space.
Liked least: Lack of private space outside and fiddling with the heating.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gavin B
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy Countryside Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My partner and I wanted a couple of days away to relax in the quiet surrounds of North Devon. Yew Tree Cottage was ideal and we are already planning a return visit.

The cottage is charming. We especially loved the beautiful farmhouse kitchen & log burner, it is obvious the owners have put a great deal of time & effort into the cottage to make it welcoming to it's guests.

Great location, plenty of local attractions and countryside walks, what more could you want?

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Log Burner and Bed
Liked least: Local pub shut too early!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$102
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Jonathan & Caroline W
44 01488 648916
Speaks English, French
Listed since : May 2010
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 5 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing