We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Homemade food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone's Bar & Restaurant

Stone's Bar & Restaurant
48 The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5AN, England
01643 709717
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 73 Restaurants in Minehead
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Homemade food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here over the bank holiday and had a lovely meal, homemade chicken pâté to start, 2 big wedges of crusty bread & enough pâté to do at least another 2 wedges, with ample side salad! Main course was homemade scampi, homemade tartar sauce with chips & fresh garden peas, the portions were ample, food was hot and all served quickly, my partner had garlic bread (& helped me use up the pâté) to start and a homemade cheeseburger which he said was stunning again with ample chips & side salad, the portions are value for money, drinks were reasonably priced & the staff both friendly & helpful if I go to Minehead in the future I'll certainly eat here again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Food was very greasy, tasted really bland and boring, would not eat there again. I would advise you to eat else where,

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went for an evening meal as staying in minehead, had an excellent meal of pasta carbonara and sausage&mash. Followed by deserts of treacle sponge and a lemon posset?? All food seemed homemade (deserts definitely wasn't a frozen pot put in the microwave!) Very reasonable priced about £35 for food and 4 alcoholic drinks.
Very clean bar/seating area. Upto date decor. Friendly staff. Would definitely eat there again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Incredible service (beyond the call of duty)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Me, my wife and granddaughter visited Stones based on positive reviews and the nice look of the place. Upon arrival we were greeted by a nicely decorated venue with welcoming staff and a pleasant ambiance. Upon the arrival of our food, our granddaughter decided it was time for a tantrum and I had to take her for a long walk to calm her down, but rather than leaving me to return and suffer cold food the bar manager took my meal away, and when I returned had the chef remake my entire meal so that it was both hot and fresh. The food itself was excellent and the service continued to impress throughout our visit, if we had found this place on day one...we wouldn't have gone elsewhere. Great food, great price, great service...perfect and the inspiration for our first Trip Advisor review. Oh and my wife says the chocolate ganache dessert is gorgeous!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Pizza I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am not really a Pizza person but we were on a dayy trip to Minehead and were looking for something easy and to eat outside. Absolutley fabulous pizza with I guess at least a whole chicken breast (in pieces) on top. Very hearty and very tasty. Would have no hesitation in returning there again if we ever went back to Minhead. My wife had a pizza too and she enjoyed hers very much (different toppings) cannot speak for the rest of the menu but if the pizza was anyuthing to go by would suggest it will all be great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Minehead, Somerset
Minehead, Somerset
 
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to Stone's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.