We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place for a tourer or motor home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoburne Blue Anchor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoburne Blue Anchor
Save
You added Hoburne Blue Anchor to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Blue Anchor Bay, Minehead TA24 6JT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a great place for a tourer or motor home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our first of two stays at Blue Anchor having stayed at several other Hoburne sites and it has to be said that this is a gem. The touring site is flat and level, pitches are well spaced and generous, the grounds as in all Hoburne sites, are spotlessly clean and well maintained. A short walk gets you to the beach and Minehead is only a short walk away. The cycle network is accessible via Carhampton on the A39 and is safe for all abilities including children. On site the pool is clean and readily accessible, whilst smaller that other Hoburne sites is certainly fine for the number of people on site even over a bank holiday. I'm now looking forward to returning at the end of May. This is a wonderful little gem in the Somerset countryside

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our Blue Anchor Holiday Park. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we truly look forward to seeing you again at the end of May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We took our touring caravan, great flat pitches, lovely wooded area and park for the children to play in. ... toilets, showers and washing up area very clean , showers hot , and heaters in the block in the evenings. there is a swimming pool on site even though we didn't use it it looked lovely and clean, a well stocked shop on site.! and staff were friendly. also very reasonable, will definitely go back .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for leaving us a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for a week in a static home right on the front for one week in March. We normally stay in b&b's for 3 nights at this time. The week was much better value for money, the home was warm with the central heating and plenty of hot water in the good shower, especially as the weather for the week was very cold. Having the pool on site was a bonus. There is a lovely cafe 100yrds from the entrance for breakfast and or lunch if you need.
We have not stayed in this type of accommodation before, and were surprised at the lack of sound proofing for any outside noise, the site was quiet, but we would not consider using this when the site was busy.
Just one niggle, you have to walk across the grass to get to the home, it was muddy, so we had to put cardboard down inside to stop us making a mess. Why is there not paving from the road?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hoburne Blue Anchor site and of your holiday experiences. We're glad that you were pleasantly surprised by your accommodation, this is always great to hear. Unfortunately due to the weather the ground can become a little muddy, but we don't have paving from the road because we want to maintain a more natural look for when the weather is warm and sunny in peak season. We apologise for the hassle but we hope you understand. We look forward to seeing you and your family with us again soon when the weather is a little warmer! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We also stayed on this site middle of march. We were in the "country view" part overlooking the railway. We found the site poorly maintained,dirty roads weeds growing out of gutters, mud on roads,unkeept grass(although it was only just showing signs of growth) never the less. The entrance road had concrete all over where work had been carried out and never cleaned up, even to the extent of running across the main entrance road and partway down the road leading to the touring caravan field. If it was like it then what is like in the peak season when all are busy.

Room Tip: The sea front is noisy, the country side is the better providing there are no vans blocking your vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello and thanks for telling us about your stay at Hoburne Blue Anchor. We apologise that the site didn't look as well maintained as you expected, we've been busy preparing our park for peak season with construction work, which has now ceased. We look forward to welcoming you both back for another holiday with us, when you can see the benefits of the work in peak season. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in a static 'silver' grade caravan for three nights in March. Our caravan was excellant, spotlessly clean, modern and in very good condition. The location of the site is lovely, close to the seafront and in easy reach of local attractions. The grounds of the site were extremly well maintained, all grass areas were tidy and nothing seemed out of place. We enjoyed watching the local stream trains of the West Somerset railway passing by the camp, suprisingly quietly! We did have a slightly problem one morning but this was resolved by a maintenance attendant arriving at our caravan within 10 minutes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review about your experience at our Hoburne Blue Anchor Holiday Park. We're glad you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in a static caravan and enjoyed sitting on the decking overlooking the sea each morning.A lovely beach about two minutes walk away and West Somerset Railway directly behind which is a little loud but we liked it!(wasn't too often we were in and the trains aren't that frequent) A few mins walk to a lovely cafe and the railway station. Our only complaint(tongue in cheek)is that the mushroom in the pool wasn't on,my husband having fond memories from his childhood years! The minature golf was a little dated but we were just playing for fun! Very much enjoyed and definitely coming back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Blue Anchor, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We're sorry that the mushroom wasn't on! When you come and visit us again in the future just ask the pool staff and they can switch it on for you :) Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoburne Blue Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Blue Anchor

Address: Blue Anchor Bay, Minehead TA24 6JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Minehead
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Blue Anchor 4*
Also Known As:
Hoburne Blue Anchor Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoburne Blue Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.