We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who needs the Ritz High Tea - when you have Kitnors!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kitnors Tea Room

Kitnors Tea Room
exmoor country park, Minehead TA24 8HQ, England
01643 862643
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 81 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
basildon, essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Who needs the Ritz High Tea - when you have Kitnors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A huge thank you to Angie and Cam for the most delightful High Tea, last week in July, and again on my Birthday on 8th August. Angie's homemade bacon and leek quiche is divine and the cakes and scones are freshly made every day. If you are visiting Bossington or the Holnicote Estate, don't miss a visit to Kitnors as it is a first class tea room inside and has a very pretty spacious garden. High Tea is from 2:30pm and is advisable to book if 4 or more. The lunch menu is fantastic as well and we were so touched that Angie, during an extremely busy afternoon, even had a Birthday card for me with our High Tea. Wonderful hosts, we will be back next year. Don't change a thing...it rivals any establishment in London!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Oh thank you so much, it was lovely to meet you and we are so pleased that you had a good time! See you again soon Angie and Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best tea room in Somerset by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We just had to come back to Kitnors when we came back to Somerset on holiday again and have to say this place has got even better than before and it was perfect then! The first day this holiday we just had a cream tea for me and a toasted tea cake and tea for hubby, this was just so delicious! The garden is divine and the whole area just lovely. We came back a few days later and had the High Tea! My goodness it was GOOD! Everything was so fresh, there were a selection of different sandwiches, quiche, pate on toast, fruit cake, sponge, scones, cream with jam, fudge and strawberries! Everything was so tasty it took us ages to eat it all but were determined not too leave any!! The gardens were lovely to sit in and our westie Billy was made welcome too. We can not rate this place high enough, thank you to Angie and Cameron for your hard work and outstanding service and tea room and gardens. We look forward to coming back again next year xx

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Gosh that's high praise indeed hope we can keep it up! Thank you so much and hope to see you again soon . Angie and cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We visited Kitnors for lunch and were quite a large party with three young children. The staff could not have been more accommodating. We sat in the beautiful gardens; the lunch was simply delicious and freshly prepared. We all enjoyed it so much that we returned on the following day for High Tea. We were not disappointed. The sandwiches, cakes and scones were divine, again all freshly prepared. We hope to be able to return on our next visit to this very beautiful part of the Country.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed the high teas! hope you all find your way back here in the not too distant future. Angie and Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely surroundings, beautiful building, cosy garden. And nice cakes - try the high tea! The only tiny minus is the plastic furniture in the garden, which doesn't go terribly well with the old surroundings. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review . We too were not keen on the plastic chairs , but after 3 years of moving everything to cut the grass and shuffling them to accommodate different size groups, plus mess the birds make overnight we are very glad they are light and easy to clean! But we know exactly what you mean. hope to see you again soon. Angie and Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exmoor tea room with it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is currently one of the best tea rooms on Exmoor. The service is excellent, friendly smiling staff. Food is good, excellent coffee, choice of teas, I had Earl Grey today in lovely china pot with hot water for second cup. I tend to have the smoked salmon sandwich with cream cheese but today had toasted cranberry and brie sandwich as it had rained and needed something warm. It was excellent. We could sit outside, although light rain plenty of cover and they allow dogs in the garden. Garden itself is delight. Hard to fault, in fact I cannot.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angie25london, Owner at Kitnors Tea Room, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind review and high praise!. We are very pleased that you enjoy your visits to Kitnors. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Angie and Cam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitnors Tea Room also viewed

 

Been to Kitnors Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitnors Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.