We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butlins Minehead Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butlins Minehead Resort
Save
You added Butlins Minehead Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Minehead
oldbury
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from a four day break at minehead and what a fantastic time we had.The appartment a two bedroom with lounge was clean the beds were comfy and a pleasant place to stay.We ate in the ocean bar and the food was superb I have two kids one of whom is a fussy eater but even she commented how good the food was.Entertainment was good a fantastic Tom Jones tribute(and we not really into his music)but he was fab! The only down side was it was fairly exspensive to drink in the venues when you have children the drinks can cost a bit but other than that Fantastic!!! one little moan i am a smoker and accept that you cant smoke in room or venues but there are not enough ashtrays about by the accomadation although i smoke i dont leave my fag ends on the floor so have to walk around to find a bin!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    554
    303
    146
    232
See reviews for
1,016
160
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

On arrival at Butlins Minehead we were greeted by security on the gate who directed us to the car park and told us we could check in anytime from 12pm. As we arrived at around 11.45am we ate lunch that we had with us and then walked down to the check in area which is solely used for this purpose. The desks were alphabetical and we didn’t have to wait 5mins  fabulous start! We couldn’t get into our apartment until 4pm and were given timed key cards so we could use the facilities and then enter at the specified time. We took the time to familiarise ourselves with everything and then went to find our apartment around 3.45pm. We did try the key at 3.50pm and it didn’t work until 4pm, very clever we thought. Good idea. I would much rather check in with no waiting around than have to wait ages in queues to get keys at the same time much like everywhere else we have stayed. Well done Butlins.

We stayed in Oyster Bay, Riverbed Court 2, ground floor silver apartment. This was my first time at Butlins and I was pleasantly surprised. Lovely apartment, clean, tidy and beds made up etc. We had everything we needed, the heaters all worked, the shower was good. They only thing we didn’t have was a grill pan which was soon brought to us when we rang the number provided. We also had an issue with ants in the kitchen area a few days in but again this was soon resolved and someone came out to sort it. The only problem we had with being on the ground floor was the noise from upstairs however this was only on one night and I believe it was a male group so it was to be expected. The bed was comfier than most places I have been although after a few nights you start to miss your own.

We chose to go self-catering rather than the dining option and from what I have read on here I’m glad we did, although to look at when we were passing the dining area it did seem alright?
The fair was good fun for everyone, although my daughter is small for her age and could only go on a couple of things due to height restrictions. Bob the builder’s yard is excellent for the little ones and is also under cover so good if the weather is bad. My 2 year old son loved all the rides and the waiting times were not bad either.

The skyline pavilion is the heart of the site and here takes place all of the many children’s shows and performances throughout the day. We managed to watch bob the builder, Angelina ballerina, fire man Sam and mike the knight while we were there. My daughter also enjoyed a puppet show and the skyline gang show. All good fun and plenty of seats etc.
There is an arcade here too with plenty of machines and rides etc, most of the children’s rides are £1 with a few 50p ones. There are bars and shops throughout too. With a Spar that’s open late to get those last minute things on the way back.

We didn’t sample the evening entertainment this time, with having young children our holiday was about them and I didn’t fancy trying to make them sit through shows that didn’t start until gone 9pm. Next time may be different, well I hope so as there are plenty I would like to see.

We visited the splash pool and enjoyed it in there, lovely and warm with plenty of changing areas.

We also visited the Ice Cream shop which has some lovely flavours, very nice.

On out last night we decided to visit the Sun and Moon restaurant, how lovely this was. Although the queues seemed to be to the door we were served within 10 minutes and we had a food with us within another 10, excellent service super quick and delicious food all good I would definitely visit here again.

A lot of the staff on the park are polish and they are very efficient, If we visited a busy restaurant at home we would have to wait an hour or more for food. Again well done Butlins 

A very good first experience of Butlins and we only stayed mon-fri I can honestly say I would of stayed longer if I could where as I’m usually ready to go home! We have rebooked for Bognor Regis for next year while we were there and saved some money in doing so. All Good 

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time at Butlins, Minehead. Good points: good value for money, lots of entertainment choices, lots to do.
Bad points: there are no cigarette bins nr accomodation to everyone throws their butts on the floor. Not nice when you have young children. Matresses...some need updating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my wife,mother inlaw and 8 month old daughter for a midweek break in may.since my mother inlaw is disabled we had an adapted room right next to the resturants which was very handy.the rooms were massive and really suited to our needs.we had the basic dinning option and food it good value and really tasty.the only issue I had was that in the dinning room some complete chavs at breakfast decided to turn up in there pj's and dressing gowns and were allowed to stay!!the holiday over all was great with a lovely pool complex and great entertainment for the kids but if butlins aren't careful they will lose customers like ourselves because I have no wish to go on a holiday where pikey chavs with no self respect go

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went in as day visitors as we were staying at another holiday park and had booked next years holiday before we left ! We had to be off site by 6pm but there was so much to do in the hours we were there, paid £54 for 5 of us to get in for the day, there was all the free activities, things were going on all over the camp, my 8 year old was entertained all day, well worth the money for a good day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

After a successful trip last year we returned to Minehead this year.
We arrived shortly before 1pm and by the time we had parked up check-in had opened. With no queuing we got our envelope and returned it to our car as we could not access the accommodation till 4pm.
We spent the afternoon having a drink, a snack and watching the shows in the Skyline Pavilion. Even though it was still early there seemed a lot of people there already.
We found our accommodation shortly after 4pm and unpacked. Although the beds aren't the best the one this year was not brilliant. By night number 3 both myself and my partner were getting pains in our hips.
We had opted for Premium Dining as last year we had a good deal; half price upgrade, and had enjoyed it a lot. This year it was obvious that more had taken this option too. Although 'Premium' the choices on offer were a lot less than last year and food quality had taken a down turn. Last year there was a choice of 3 veg on the roast dinner. This year 2. Peas were only served on the Thursday night, otherwise it you had to have mushy peas from the other stand. The choice of deserts had dropped from 4 to 2 and fresh fruit from 3 to 2.
There are 2 main venues for entertainment, Reds and Cente Stage. It is possible to see upto 4 shows a night moving between the 2 venues but doing that usually compromised where you could sit and view the show to it's best advantage.
We purchased 'B Line' wrist bands. This is allows access to venues 15 minutes before the main doors open. It also meant we could have a leisurely dinner with no need to queue for upto 2 hours to get the best seats in the entertainment venues. So we had the best seats and could access the bar easily before the mad rush. It's areal advantage. And during the summer holidays when over double the amount of people are there it makes the your holiday more relaxing.
The biggest problem this year was returning acts. Tom Jones and Tina Turner Tributes, Someone like Adele, Evoke, The Rolling Clones and a tribute to the Stereophonics. There's no real reason why these bands should play year in, year out.
The highlight was Stavros Flately with a fantastic show. It's great to see an actual popular star working Butlins during Term Time as these acts are usually only kept for the Summer holidays.
This is our fourth consecutive year to Butlins and as each year goes by these Term Time Holidays seem to get more popular. And it;s not just pre-school aged children either, There are a lot of children missing out on valuable education for these cheaper breaks. But that's another argument.
Next year it's back to Bognor Regis.......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We only booked a week before so the choice of accommodation was very limited, all we could get was a basic room only so I was a little worried but we were put in surfers point which was 2mins away from everything that was fantastic, the rooms were small but clean had a problem with the bedding but that was solved in no time.The bathroom was a fair size with a full size bath and plenty of hot water the room had basic but modern furniture and the beds really comfortable the curtains let it down as they where tatty and not to clean, but we slept well and food was good .the firehouse chicken restaurant was excellent and great value for money. There's something for everyone to do can't wait to go back......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butlins Minehead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Minehead Resort

Address: Warren Road, Minehead TA24 5SH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlins Minehead Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Also Known As:
Butlins Minehead Hotel Minehead
Butlins Hotel Minehead
Butlins Resort
Butlins Minehead Resort Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butlins Minehead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.