We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Butlins out of the three sites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butlins Minehead

Butlins Minehead
Minehead TA24 5SH , England
01643 703331
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Minehead
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please only add your review here if you visited Butlins Minehead as a day visitor and didn't stay overnight. If your review is about a short break please add it to the listing entitled 'Butlins Minehead Resort'.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Butlins out of the three sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Another great week away in Minehead. Had a Deluxe - so nice patio. Could only get a twin when I booked but they made it up as a double which was great. Lots of new building going on at the moment. Can't wait to see what the hotel is going to be like. I think it's about time they built one here. Loved the Freddie tribute.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    333
    157
    104
    126
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“minehead butlins best resort in the chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

we booked a silver apartment but upgraded to gold for a small fee. the accommodation at minehead is far superior to Bognor Regis but even so it in need of some TLC. the resort is super (be aware there are building works on site at the moment) the staff fantastic and the entertainment enjoyable. all in all we had a good time for the 4 nights we were there

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice week away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Went to Minehead Mon 28th for 4 nights with our two sons aged 6months and 3years. We stayed in a silver self catering apartment, the room was extremely clean with almost all appliances spotless if not brand new. The apartment was set quite far back behind the main restaurant so was a bit of a hike to the Skyline but if you go prepared you shouldn't need to go back to often! It was however more of an issue with luggage and parking! Try and park as early as possible when you arrive as the most popular areas get rammed!! We parked relatively close first time but once we left resort for 10mins we couldn't park anywhere near our block!! The entertainment was great for kids in the daytime with plenty of character shows, you can also meet and greet with a photo but at £7 a pic you wouldn't want a full collection! The pool is lovely and big and is fantastic for thrill seekers with slides and a strong current wave machine! It was a bit of a nightmare to get our 6month old dressed though as there was only ONE baby unit in our section with over 30+ people! The evening entertainment is fab and starts quite early for families to enjoy too, be prepared for queues though to get a good seat (or even A seat!), one night we went down an hr and a half after the show had started and the whole venue didn't even have one seat available- we wasn't even in half term! Some families also let their kids queue jump as soon as the doors open which is a little annoying when you have waited in line for 30+mins. Shop prices are extremely expensive but you would expect that! However Morrison's, Tesco's and Mcds are a short walk away for all necessities. All in all we had a lovely break away and will definitely be returning again for our annual Butlins trip!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“first time to butlins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

just got back from fab first time ever to butlins minehead we stayed in a gold apartment with patio it was really nice we were able to sit outside in the sun relaxing my son loved the geese ducks and seagulls with wud come visiting ! the apartment was lovely would def get a patio apartment next time ! the entertainment for my son was really good he loved fireman sam bob the builder and Thomas we went to bobs yard everyday where he happily played on the slide but wasn't happy bobs yard closed at 12 to 1 pm ! we went self catering but ate out at pizza hut finnigans which was delicious ! there was soo much to do ! well done butlins for a great holiday

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“crap accomadation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

stayed in butlins minehead over easter holidays with the wife and two children ,never been before so we were excited to go when we arrived the car park was jam packed full so couldnt park by check in had to drive around the back of the camp but didnt mind this ,we booked in to silver accommadation so we thought should be ok ,,,how wrong was i it was a total disgrace ,being dirty ,old wooden dirty windows sticky carpet dirty walls and no chairs to sit on and at night very very noisey iam very dissapointed with this and would not stay in silver again ,.. i would go for gold as for every thing else the camp entertainment staff ,footy coaches were fab as my six year old son loved them and had lots of time for him the red coats were great and worked very hard to get you smiling the pool is clean and great fun especially the slides if i was to rate the room out of 10 i would say a three the camp and staff out of 10 its got to be a 10

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butlins Minehead also viewed

 
Minehead, Somerset
Dunster, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Butlins Minehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butlins Minehead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.