We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than we remembered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Channel House Hotel

Channel House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Channel House Hotel
Save
You added Channel House Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Path, Minehead TA24 5QG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Minehead
Malvern
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Even better than we remembered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We spent 6 nights at this hotel a year ago. It was a magical holiday as we loved the hotel and the area. Was it a mistake to come for seven nights this May? No - it was even better than our memories from last year. The area has even more to offer than we imagined - so much so we will be back for another seven nights next May. The Channel House was even better than we remembered. The food at breakfast (selection of fresh fruits amazing)and dinner was superb (again). The owners (Debra and Andy) are so charming and helpful (Andy's suggestions of places to visit were spot on). Last year we criticised the restocking of the room, and this year it was faultless. It is a very friendly hotel, where the visitors all chat to each other, and share places to visit. Sue and I are 60 and we were almost the youngest guests. As a destination for active mature guests it is hard to beat - lots of good walks. One particular point we liked was that after a wonderful 3 course meal you were offered a superb cheese board, we only nibbled at it but it was an unusual luxury. We also liked the fact that the evening meal was served in less than 90 minutes (everyone eats at 7pm) so one could talk to guests and still be in bed before 10pm. Even more strongly recommended than last year.

Room Tip: See the web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was our first visit to The Channel House but it certainly wont be our last. From start to finish we were made very welcome. The food is superb and accommodation attractive and very comfortable. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Channel House hotel, a hotel we found first by accident ,but one we will always return to when travelling this way. The food is superb,I have never been anywhere else where there was a choice of nine fruits for breakfast,beautifully presented,melon,mango,raspberries,strawberries,pineapple,passion fruit,banana,apples and prunes, then a wonderful choice of cooked food. Just superb, as is the accommodation and the welcome shown by the owners Andy and Debra.First class.

Room Tip: We like room two as this is on the front, but all rooms we have stayed in, have been spacious, and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've very rarely seen somewhere apart from 4 or 5 star establishments that are kept at this standard ....... All areas are spotless and yes that's all rooms bar dining room stair cases and even the wardrobes and cupboards!!! Lovely garden a d outside seating areas ...... Lovely area of the town and not too far from town centre and railway station and bus stops. We had a carless couple of days and enjoyed the hotel town and surrounding area very much ....... You have to try Channel House Hotel when you visit Minehead.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Found this hotel in the WI magazine and is as near perfect as possible. From the moment we arrived at the hotel to our final morning, we felt thoroughly cared for and cossetted. Everywhere throughout the hotel; main guest rooms, bedrooms and bathrooms, is immaculate and very comfortable. Our room was at the front of the hotel and afforded us wonderful views across the town and the bay. The food is delicious and as well as catering for special diets, Debra takes notes of individual likes and dislikes. Both Debra and Andy provide a special welcome to all their clients and have ensured that we shall return again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Les and Ruth Williams,

We have just returned from a three day break at Channel house Hotel, Minehead.Everything about our stay was as near perfect as could be,Rooms were clean comfortable and serviced regularly. The food was excellent and as good as any we have experienced anywhere.The owners ,Debbie and Andy made everyone feel at home and were as helpful as could be and did everything to make our stay enjoyable.A well run friendly small hotel, certainly hope to return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

found this hotel by chance after reading about it in the aa guide. very friendly owners and location good on the hill overlooking the town and beach. the meals were presented wonderfully and tasted great with good service.rooms were clean and décor in good order.we shall be back again and again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Channel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel House Hotel

Address: Church Path, Minehead TA24 5QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Channel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Channel Hotel Minehead
Channel House Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Channel House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.