We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glendower House

Glendower House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glendower House to your Saves list
Glendower House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-32 Tregonwell Road, Minehead TA24 5DU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed at Glendower House for a week, enjoying first rate accommodation and great breakfasts.

Our double room (number nine) on the first floor was spacious, clean and tastefully furnished. The bed was comfortable and the shower had decent pressure. The delicious ginger cookies - replenished daily - were a nice bonus.

Glendower House has a pleasant lounge as well as some seating on the rear patio overlooking an immaculate garden. There's no bar, but you can store your own drinks in the fridge at the back of the lounge. Parking at the front on Tregonwell Road is free, but the B&B also has its own car park at the back reached via an alleyway linking two side roads.

Everything at breakfast was cooked freshly and served promptly. The locally made museli and stewed fruit were wonderful. Peter and Katryna couldn't do enough to help. You really couldn't hope to find kinder hosts.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

We have stayed at Glendower House twice in as many years, and would happily stay there again - and recommend it.

We stayed in the room with the 4-poster bed, and large bay window - had everything you would need, absolutely spotless, with a personal feel - not an anonymous type of place.

Peter and Katryna are doing a fantastic job here - great welcome and marvellous breakfast. Just the thing to set you up for a day's outing. Nice sunny garden at the rear of the hotel as well.

  • Liked — The owners, Peter & Katryna Thompson
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaw
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2007

My wife and i, with another couple looking for an over night stop in Minehead called at the local tourist info, we were given a list of several hotels, the Glendower was the first one we saw, we liked it and we loved it , everything was spot on - we would definitely recommend it to anyone Jim.sum

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

We stayed at the Glendower for a three-day break and were pleasantly surprised. It doesn't look much from the outside and is quite small inside, but the owners made us feel very welcome. The hotel is clean and cosy.
Our room was spotless. The bathroom had undergone recent refurbishment and was completely re-fitted. It was spotless and the shower was one of the best I've had - plenty of pressure and nice and big. Towels were fresh, as was the bed linen.
Breakfast was very nice. The owners were glad to accommodate us if we wanted something different. They were happy to help out with local information. The hotel has a tiny bar, but is nice if you don't fancy venturing out into the town (which isn't all that special).
All in all, a nice hotel and would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — Cleaniness and good berakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing to complain about
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glendower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower House

Address: 30-32 Tregonwell Road, Minehead TA24 5DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Minehead
#2 Romantic Hotel in Minehead
#3 Family Hotel in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendower House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glendower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Minehead
Glendower House Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.