We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glendower House

Glendower House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glendower House to your Saves list
Glendower House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30-32 Tregonwell Road, Minehead TA24 5DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Minehead
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay (March 2013). Following a friendly welcome we were shown to our room (a twin double) which was large, clean and very well decorated. There was plenty of comfortable furniture and refreshment provisions, and the beds were extremely comfortable. There were night frosts whilst we were there, but the room remained pleasantly warm throughout our stay. The dining room was similarly presented (clean and decorated to a high standard) and the breakfast was superb - plenty of choices and the full English was freshly cooked and satisfying. Some nice touches: the croissants were warm, there were many pots of jams to choose from (not foil sealed supermarket style) and the yoghurts were laid on a dish of ice.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this B and B. We fully intend to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

In summary, just what a B&B should be.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, well-decorated and very nicely furnished. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of hanging space for clothes.
Breakfast was everything you look for in a good B&B and the Full English was done to perfection. There was a wide range of fruit juices and preserves.
Peter and Katryna looked after us so well.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This must be the best B&B in Minehead if not in the whole of Somerset. We had a superb stay. The attention of Peter the owner is outstanding.The room was wonderful - recently decorated and every attention to detail. He even brought us 2 wine glasses having seen that we had bought a bottle. Excellent bathroom with shower,; plenty of hot water; large towels; the works. And as for breakjfast..... well again superb....tatsy muesli, the best cooked scrambled egg and lots of fruit. Parking is available at the rear of the house and the garden looked beautiful. Perfect location - just 5 minutes to the Avenue and the sea. We could not fault it - excellent value for money. Its what all B&Bs should aspire to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited this Guest House for 3 days in May and we would recommend it as the staff were very friendly and the breakfasts excellent. It is also very handy for Minehead town centre. We would definitely book it again if in that part of Somerset again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We returned once again to the Glendower for another short break. Peter was,as always, a most cheerful and welcoming host. Our room was bright, clean and well stocked with refreshments, bottled water provided each day is a bonus we really appreciate. Breakfast was as good as we remembered, lots of choice of cereals, fruit, juices etc. and a number of options to follow. The grill was delicious. We have already reserved a room for our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

stayed in this hotel in august 31st fantastic clean place couldnt fault it ,nice touch with biscuits and spring water every day ,lovely bed ,shower was brilliant and good central location ,breakfast was great with everything you could ask for ,will be staying again 100 percent

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Do not hesitate to choose this place. Everything works well in this house - the large clean well decorated room, the shower pressure and temperature, plenty of nice toiletries, comfortable bed (I slept better than in some 4-5 star hotels), great hosts, the quiet but central location just minutes away from the sea. We felt very welcome and would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor facing the street, but there was not much traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glendower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower House

Address: 30-32 Tregonwell Road, Minehead TA24 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendower House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glendower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Minehead
Glendower House Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.