We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and puds so good, you ask for seconds.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheelhouse Restaurant

The Wheelhouse Restaurant
27 The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5AY, England
01643 818245
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Minehead
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value and puds so good, you ask for seconds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I have been several times now and each time, the service and the mains have been brilliant. Where it really scores are the deserts: the raspberry and almond trifle and the lemon tart are going to have to fight over which is the best.
Gary & Kim are superb hosts and nothing is too much.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    18
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food good, portions good, place good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited this restaurant for lunch, it was a nice retreat from the hectic high street outside. I had a Crabbies, it was cold but they had ran out of ice. I quite like ice but i can deal with no ice as long as the drink is cold. I ordered the fish and chips and my partner had the prawn baguette. The food was served in good time and the portions were good, with sides of salad. The fish was not soggy. The prawns were fresh. I would visit this restaurant again if I was in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friday evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What a lovely surprise! We were made very welcome from the start. At the end of a long day it was just what we needed. A good menu and excellent food. We shall return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good quality & quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Tasty lunch with a great pot of tea.
Comfortable dining area with easy listening background music.
Ideal location for the older diners.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“wheelhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Ate there on August 31st lovely place ,clean and very friendly ,i was looking for a quite ,good value place which i found in this little gem ,food was very good starters and mains ,they didnt overload the menu which is better ,service very good and the staff are very friendly cant do enough for you ,i shall be back again

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheelhouse Restaurant also viewed

Minehead, Somerset
 
Minehead, Somerset
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to The Wheelhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheelhouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.