We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Minehead.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alcombe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alcombe House Hotel to your Saves list
Alcombe House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Bircham Road | Alcombe, Minehead TA24 6BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 Minehead B&B and Inns
Padstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem in Minehead.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just returned from four nights at the Alcombe House Hotel and am compelled to write about our time there. We were a party of three and booked two rooms, my 89 year old mother was with us. Everything was first class from the first contact through to us leaving. All aspects were exceptional, Roger and Val were the perfect hosts, they have attained the highest standards in each area of hospitality.From not looking forward to a hotel break, we prefer self catering, we will most certainly be booking in again as a threesome later this year. Roger's marvellous sense of humour and Val's amazing cuisine are not to be missed.
A stoncking good place for a well earned break.

Room Tip: All rooms were of exceptional standard but I guess the one we were in had the edge, room 4, gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stay at Alcombe House Hotel two or three times a year. It is our 'Home from Home' and we just love it. Run by Roger(front of house) and Valerie(Chef/Kitchen) you will receive a warm welcome from the moment you arrive. There is a spacious lounge for relaxing with a glass of your favourite tipple after a strenuous day out. The Dining Room is charming with each table having fresh flowers and an intimate oil light on it.
All the bedrooms are of a good size, the beds are comfortable and en-suite bathroom facilities are par excellance. Roger (mine host) will look after all your requests and ,if you need any help, you only have to ask. Val (as we call her) looks after all the food preparation to a quality and standard that you would find hard to find in a 5* hotel
I really don't know why I'm telling you all this because Alcombe House Hotel is our romantic hideaway and we don't want news about our secret place to get out.
If you do decide to give Roger and Val a try next time you're in West Somerset you will not be disappointed and will want to re-visit time after time.
P.S. There is plenty to do in this part of the world - Walking on Exmoor and in the Quantocks
and , by the way, there is a fantastic Steam Railway for you to travel on. Good luck.

Room Tip: Bedrooms (7) are on three floors accessed by stairs. If you have problems walking or climbing stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I have been staying at Alcombe House for 8 years now and I can honestly say that it has been 100% everytime.

You are gauranteed a warm and friendly welcome, comfortable beds and fantastic food. Nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Good views of the Bristol channel from 3 and 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My sister and I came across this by chance on a web search for a last minute weekend break. A warm welcome and spacious, airy and comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast. Little touches like fresh flowers make this hotel a cut above the rest. Despite being on the main approach to Minehead, a very quiet location, so very restful. So handy to nip into Minehead and to get onto walks nearby - the walk to Dunster is a little challenging in places but worth the effort. We can see why people come back time after time. (The cats are adorable too) Helen & Heather

Room Tip: Because the hotel is "side on" to the main road, I doubt any room would be disturbed by tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We came across Alcombe House about nine years ago and have been returning on a yearly basis ever since. Roger and Val, mine hosts, are very welcoming, and the hospitality one receives is second to none. The bedrooms are clean, spacious, very comfortable and always have fresh flowers in them. The guest lounge is very convivial for having an aperative before the always excellent evening meal. All meals are prepared and cooked fresh by Val from locally sourced and fresh ingredients. Val is a very talented chef. We look forward to our annual long weekend in Alcombe House knowing that there will be no problems, no hassle, top quality accommodation and food. We cannot recommend Alcombe House highly enough.

Room Tip: This is difficult as all rooms are individual. We prefer either room 1 or 4 if we can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

A Great Hotel with first class accomodation and food, Val and Roger are always very attentive to your needs, nothing is too much trouble.
This is a Hotel you will want to visit time and time again as we already have.
Mr: & Mrs: D. Marshall July 2011.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were first recommended to this delightful hotel in April 1999 and we've been going back there two or three times a year ever since. This speaks for itself!
Roger and Val, the owners who run the hotel entirely on their own, are a great and very friendly couple. Roger looks after the 'front of the house' and serves the meals whilst Val does the cooking and laundry. The three course evening meal, with varied menu every evening, is superb.
We have been there twice this year and are hoping to squeeze a third trip in before the end of their season. We've yet to meet anyone who doesn't want to pay a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 4 are larger and rear facing and hence quieter, but all rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alcombe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcombe House Hotel

Address: Bircham Road | Alcombe, Minehead TA24 6BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcombe House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel of great charm ideally located for exploring Exmoor, Minehead and the medieval village of Dunster with its castle. AA four star highly commended for quality. All rooms en-suite, large car park, guest lounge and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alcombe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcombe House Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcombe House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.