We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dragon House Hotel to your Saves list
Dragon House Hotel
Bilbrook, Minehead TA24 6HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Minehead
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Just enjoyed an overnight stay at the Dragon House. Stayed there over 20 years ago - we liked it then - and still like it now. The Hotel has plenty of Character - and for the price, our room was spacious and clean. The food was delicious and as good as we have had in many Michelin One Star establishments. There is a bit of road noise, but
not too intrusive. If you are a light sleeper - just have an extra bottle of wine. Will hopefully
return for another fine meal sometime next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    31
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
65
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We booked this hotel through one of the internet agencies, and paid both a small booking fee, and a room rate of £75 a night in advance for bed and breakfast. In our booking we stated we were travelling with a dog so needed a dog friendly room. On arrival we were allocated Room 9; which is accessed from the courtyard; separate from the hotel. When we checked in the bedroom contained a large portable humidifier which was working overtime, the lady that showed us to the room didn't refer to it so we subsequently disconnected it and wheeled it into the lobby area. Both the bathroom and bedroom had signs of damp, we found during our two night stay that books and newspapers showed signs of this dampness.

On the positive side the hotel had extensive gardens we could walk the dog in and the breakfast was good, however, there were some negatives. Apart from the damp (the room was built into the hill side so this would be difficult to overcome), there was very limited hanging space in the room. It was difficult to watch the TV (a flat screen system) which was positioned high on the wall as there was just one small chair. The tea tray was adequate but there was no hair drier. The room is at ground level, and although one window had net curtains, the other did not so that passerbys (in fairness, very few) could gaze into the room as they passed.

The biggest let down was the bathroom which did not have a shower facility. Some toiletries were provided, however, we would have preferred if more toilet rolls could have been supplied as we ran out of paper - very inconvenient!

We ate one evening meal in the hotel and the food was fine, and reasonably priced, but the one lady on duty was struggling to cope with both the bar and serving food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDragonHouse, Owner at Dragon House Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Sorry you didn't seem to enjoy your short break and its a shame you didn't raise any of the 'problems' with us during your stay. I must, however, respond to some inaccuracies..

The room allocated is the 1 room that we reserve for guests with dogs and is newly refurbished. The en-suite has a full bath with shower attachment.
Toiletries are provided and replenished each morning (along with toilet rolls) - should guests require extra, they only have to ask and extra will be provided.
This ground floor room has windows to 2 aspects. The side aspect has net curtains for privacy, the garden aspect is not overlooked. Both windows have curtains for full privacy.
The lcd freeview television is mounted on an extendable arm - allowing it to be viewed from any angle in the room.
We have always found fixed Hotel hairdyers to be a bit underpowered so choose not to fit them - however hairdryers, irons and boards, (complementary) shoe cleaning kits etc are available from reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Although on an 'A' class rooad traffic noise was not intrusive. We had 'garden room' a former loft which was clean, comfortable with character. Fluffy big towels, good breakfasts. Fine dining restaurant used by non residents. Friendly helpful staff Good base for exploring Exmoor.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Well I think I must have been staying in a different hotel than most of the previous reviewers. Yes nice hotel, but no one tells you that it is situated on the main trunk road into Minehead which has very heavy traffic on it all day, starting at 7:30am. So if you are in a front room, you had better be a good sleeper - or get up early and enjoy the fabulous Exmoor scenery! Our room was large, with a separate dressing room & shower room - the rooms were clean, but in need of modernisation. The location of the hotel is pretty good for exploring Exmoor and the coast, but if you are looking for a quite retreat in the country, pick somewhere else. The food on the other hand is excellent, but I have to say that I don't generally like small hotel restaurants because of the lack of atmosphere and the fact that everyone feels like they have to whisper so that no one hears your conversation. Plus I hate to see dogs in restaurants, with old ladies feeding their left over’s under the table. The atmosphere only got better on both nights when the waitress came in for a bit of a chatter! So would I stay there again - sorry, but no.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDragonHouse, Owner at Dragon House Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Thank you for your review
We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay and can only say that this is extremely rare, but I would just like to take the opportunity to correct a couple of points that you raise so that readers are not misled.
Our location is accurately described and we have clear directions, and a clickable, zoomable map on our website (which you booked via). With regard to 'noise' (which I think has been overstated) we have just one room at the front of the building which is fitted with secondary glazing to the original "leaded light" windows. Had you made us aware that this was an issue after the first night we would have made every effort to move you to a more 'suitable' room.
We have 3 areas where guests and non-residents can enjoy their meals. The bar and conservatory offer an informal setting in which we do, indeed, allow owners with dogs (its almost an unwritten rule in the Exmoor area that Hotel bars and pubs allow dogs in with their owners).
The Restaurant, however, seats around 24 in a more formal setting and (as with most restaurants) we don't allow dogs.
All in all, the overwhelming majority of our guests - that have booked a small, family-run Hotel priding itself on good food and great service - are not disappointed and, again, I'm sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed for one night, started with a nice pint in the pleasant bar, room was clean and comfortable with excellent bathroom. But the highlight was the evening meal, 3 course and fantastic from start to finish made our holiday!!! Lots of information available on surrounding area and books/games available also. Harvey was very friendly and helpful, hope to stay again sometime.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

My wife and I stayed one night in a very spacious room with a separate dressing area and a separate bathroom with a wonderful bath. The hotel is old but the rooms appeared to be modernised. We had a package with half board and the food in the restaurant was outstanding...both the evening meal and breakfast. It is situated on a busy road but our room was not facing the road and overall was very quiet. A very nice place to stay and I believe it was only 125 pounds for half board for two of us ...great value!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We had a lovely stay on Easter Sunday we arrived early at 2pm. This wasnt a problem as our room was ready. Our room was No10 which was at the back of hotel in a pretty garden it was quaint and lovely the birds were singing. The room was decorated to a very high standard we had a very large bathroom All the food was locally sourced it was lovely having dinner without the worry of trying to find somewhere with tables available on such a busy weekend. The menu was excellent I had steak and my husband had a thai dish the menu was varied. The hotel is small but beautifully furnished with big log fire and leather armchairs. Breakfast again the food was locally sourced and good quality.
Thank you for such a wonderful stay A Wren 5th April 2010

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dragon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon House Hotel

Address: Bilbrook, Minehead TA24 6HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dragon House Hotel is a beautiful Country House Hotel located on the edge of Exmoor, an area of designated natural beauty. Here you will find a unique combination of exceptional fine dining and superb customer service. The Dragon House is situated on the outskirts of the quaint market town of Dunster and is a short drive to the coastal resorts of Porlock, Lynton and Lynmouth. Whether you wish to explore Exmoor or simply relax in peaceful surroundings, The Dragon House Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dragon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Minehead
Dragon House Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.