We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good traditional hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northfield Hotel

Save Saved
You added Northfield Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northfield Road, Minehead, Exmoor National Park TA24 5PU, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northfield Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in Minehead
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A very good traditional hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The welcome at reception was excellent - warm, friendly and helpful. The hotel is old fashioned, but with some nice modern touches and it attracts mainly retired and elderly guests, who appreciate (as we do) the Edwardian feel and extras such as the inclusive afternoon tea and cakes served on the dot at 4pm.
The hotel has some excellent facilities, such as an indoor pool & spa, large car park, a peaceful location and some superbly manicured gardens that include a putting green. The pool is mostly used by locals, some of whom insist to ploughing up and down as if in preparation for the next Olympics, and it is therefore often busy.
We had a deluxe room (worth the extra) which was spacious and included a comfy sofa that overlooked the sea view to Wales or the TV. The bathroom was ok, like the room generally, if you don't mind stepping back to coloured suites and dim lighting!
The food and service were good, without being special. The Northfield is probably one of several hotels where the chef is overdue for an increase in his budget so that he can deliver better portion sizes and a more inspiring dinner choices. That said, we enjoyed our meals (having had afternoon tea!) and think that the clientel would be unlikely to like anything too adventurous! There was a good choice of wines, but we felt that they were expensively priced.
We, like many others, have been guests at he Northfield for decades and overall, we like what they offer and the friendliness of the staff. Recommended - for OAPs!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are probably worth going for if you spend much time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cannot fault this hotel. Lovely menu choices both at breakfast & dinner. We travelled as part of a large group and often feel at other accommodation second class. Not at Northfield. Here we were treated as individuals, seated in the beautiful restaurant and served great food. A lovely touch was afternoon tea, home made scones and cakes, ready to enjoy in the lounge or on the terrace. Room was spacious with loads of storage space and a great sea view. Tea & Coffee making facilities really appreciated with good range of hot drinks & complimentary bottled water & biscuits replenished daily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a hotel in a lovely setting, convenient for both the town centre and the harbour. Our room was excellent and with a sea view as requested. There are beautiful gardens to enjoy and a terrace to relax on.
We were disappointed with the food, however. Breakfast was fine and comprised the usual buffet and good choice of cooked courses. On our first night we decided to eat at the hotel; the menu sounded appetising even if the prices were a little on the high side. We had starters and a main course and the portions of the latter were rather measly! Why be so mean with the vegetables? Overall the meal was ok, but decidedly average.
The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful, finding us details of walks and making us a photocopy.
We would recommend the hotel, but suggest you take your meals elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Northfield as guests of a group celebrating a birthday. The hotel is is a lovey position overlooking the bay and is very quiet. Our room overlooked the car park but did have a pleasant aspect. The room was really comfortable and spacious with and en-suite shower room which was roomy. Plenty of storage space in the room with a good range of hot drinks plus complimentary bottled water. The bed was lovely and comfortable and we had a good night's sleep.
The lunch we had was lovely and later on in the evening a group of us ordered bar snacks which were very good. There are plenty of places to sit in the lounges downstairs and also outside on a pretty veranda. It is a short walk through the pretty gardens to the sea front and on to the West Somerset Coastal path.
It's good to find somewhere as comfortable as this in such a lovely position. All the staff were helpful and the service of a high standard overall. We did not use the spa facilities but again and added bonus for such an establishment.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room as the views are really lovely. All room are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Decided on a last minute break and found this dog friendly gem after looking for dog friendly hotels in Somerset. The staff were really friendly on the phone and could not be more helpful when we arrived. Food was wide ranging and really good value with a decent selection of drinks, Lovely walks for the dog from the hotel and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. Plenty to do in the hotel if you are unfortunate with the weather with a well equipped gym and a swimming pool together with comfortable lounges and bar. We were sufficiently impressed to book two further breaks for the future.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth the money for the views and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely relaxing break, super room, super food, made to feel really welcome, will definately
Be returning, booked as a last minute weekend break, reception extremely helpful, lovely ambience, felt completely chilled, exactly what we were looking for. Need more hotels like this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We needed a dog friendly hotel in Minehead for the May Bank Holiday break. Had not been to a resort hotel in England for some 40 years. Had booked apartments and cottages.
This hotel is just perfect. In a good and scenic part of Minehead and backs onto Exmoor.
Lovely garden and a short walk to the sea front.
Staff very friendly throughout and the whole experience for the two night stay was most enjoyable.
Booked a deluxe room and these usually have garden / sea view and on a bed and breakfast basis.
We ate lunch on our day of arrival and two evening dinners as well. The food is excellent!
The room was of a good size with free bottled water and a small bottle of wine each. Fresh fruit, a sweet bowl and some dog biscuits. Nice touch.
The public areas are spacious and they have three different dining area possibilities.
I would recommend this hotel very highly and we will definitely return. The owners, Chris & Stewart, are very good hosts and they most definitely run a quality business.
For anyone going to Minehead, and there is no problem whatsoever in the area after the flooding in the Somerset Flats, take my advice and stay at this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe Double for The Views and Bedroom Size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Northfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northfield Hotel

Address: Northfield Road, Minehead, Exmoor National Park TA24 5PU, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northfield Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Exmoor National Park > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Minehead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northfield Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minehead's Premier Hotel Accomodation for rest and relaxation. Located in the heart of Exmoor's National Park Minehead offers a delightful harbour setting with sweeping sandy beaches and the rugged Quantock Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Northfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Minehead
Minehead Best Western
Northfield Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.