We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth enjoyable stay in this lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Northfield Hotel to your Saves list
Northfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Northfield Road, Minehead TA24 5PU, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northfield Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fourth enjoyable stay in this lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I recently returned to the Northfield for the fourth time, and was not disappointed.
I am amazed by some of the poor reviews; those guests must either be very fussy or very unlucky.
The only thing I would slightly agree with is that when I checked in one receptionist did appear a bit 'frosty', and I did not have the offer of help with my luggage, as I have on previous occasions. But this did not concern me unduly. All other staff were very friendly, and helpful, especially the lady who found me a fan for my room when I found the nights rather warm! and the one who remembered I liked a Tia Maria and ice later in the evening!! Like being 'home from home!'
As usual the range of food was excellant and nicely cooked and presented,at both breakfast and dinner. Service was good.
I found the lounges comfortable and pleasant; those guests who found it 'old fashioned' most probably prefer the type of furniture one finds in Ikea, so if this is your preference, the Northfield is not for you! The hotel is in an ideal position for walking in Minehead and exploring the surrounding area, and so close to the exquisite moors (up North hill)
I will certainly be returning. For me, a near-perfect hotel in a wonderful area.

Room Tip: Having only experience of the two single rooms I cannot comment. Both are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lympstone
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Returned to the northfield for a 3 night break , we visited 10 years ago and to be honest we thought we had stepped back in time as we were welcomed as before with friendly staff, clean large room and good food . As an extra treat we were able to take our little dog into a smaller room whilst we ate which was better than leaving her in a strange room on her own. well done all at the northfield we won't leave it for so long next time we stay with you.

Room Tip: we had room 30 which was a delux but well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for three nights with my mum dad and auntie last week. I don't normally do reviews but as i always use trip advisor felt for this hotel I should let everyone know how good it is. Hotel in perfect location only a five minute walk through lovely gardens to town and also has sea views. Rooms were lovely and they had just had a delivery of some beautiful new furniture- what comfy big leather chairs! The food at hotel was excellent- we had a four course meal every night and there was a fab varied choice every night. Breakfast also great- just felt so full everyday because I couldn't not eat it! However I went to the lovely pool abs jacuzzi every day too to work it off. The staff were really so lovely abs helpful- my dad wanted something off of the menu that he had the previous night as loved it so much and they dove it for him no problem. All in all a great hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We are a young"ish" couple with a 1 year old baby who have just returned from a WONDERFUL unplanned weekend break at the Northfield Hotel. First impressions count, and this always begins with the hotel receptionist. The Receptionist who checked us in, was the most efficient, professional, helpful and friendly receptionist we have dealt with (and we have stayed at a lot of hotels). Nothing was too much trouble, and she immediately set the scene for a lovely stay ahead. Our room was spotlessly CLEAN. The room EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS, with a wonderful sea view, a very large bed, lots of room to move around and great facilities. The hotel swimming pool and jacuzzi was great fun, and our 1 year old daughter had a super time splashing around after being cooped up in the car for hours. We usually dine out when visiting a new town, but decided to eat in on this occasion, as the menu looked nice and we thought it would be easier with our baby. We were given a lovely table in the Sun Lounge, with fabulous sea views, and away from the main dining room, which was excellent - as It meant, we could enjoy our meal, without worrying that our baby was going to make a noise and disturb the other diners. This really was a god send for us...and made what can be a stressful experience, a very pleasant one! The presentation of the table was excellent, with lovely clean, pressed table cloths, polished cutlery and fresh flowers. The meal was excellent, with great choice of dishes, and nice portion sizes for all 4 courses!!! The staff were attentive, friendly and highly trained. We were so impressed with the hotel, that we decided to stay for another night!!!!! The hotel oozes charm, tradition and has a wonderful hint of nostalgia - which is so sadly lacking in most hotels today. If you have very high standards of cleanliness and an eye for tradition and detail, then this hotel is for you. A wonderful end to a fantastic family holiday to the South West of of England..... If we are ever back in the area, then we will definitely be back. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK NORTHFIELD - please dont change - you are doing everything right !!

Room Tip: Room 24 was lovely - but I am sure the others are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, Owner at Northfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review, hopefully we will be welcoming you back to the Northfield in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for ones night in August 2013. Was very surprised at some of the reviews. Found the staff extremely helpful and friendly, nice cosy atmosphere in the bar with a mixture of age groups. The room was excellent and lovely and clean. Would definitely recommend and would stay again. The only gripe was the previous nights bottles being thrown into the bottle bank at 7.30am on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, Owner at Northfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank-you so much for restoring my faith in what we are doing, glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

stayed for 2 nights b&b in a deluxe room which was not deluxe, it was small and not in a nice position..The lounge areas were very old fashioned and felt uninviting (I am not ready for residential home yet).the staff were good and polite We will not stay again as there are better B&B in minehead.

Room Tip: the room we had was no33.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris L, Owner at Northfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us the only plus side is that you praised the staff
Am very disappointed that room 33 did not come up to your standards when it has a new £1000 6ft bed Laura Ashley furniture and a couple of easy chairs, it is by no means small and has an outlook along the coastline and towards the Quantocks it is one of my favourite rooms.
Comparing us to a B&B is very difficult pricewise as they do not pay 20%VAT to start with and do not have the facilities of an indoor pool, restaurant and 2 acres of landscaped gardens
A lot of our clientele are more mature but that is changing hence we are making a great deal of changes but gradually.
So hopefully you will continue to enjoy Minehead and will be able to book into The Parks.
Reading our guest book is like reading different reviews from a different planet!
thankfully a lot of guest's get the Northfield and what it is about and what a great team we have here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We visit Minehead regularly to stay with friends, when my daughter comes she stays at the Northfields .her comment this morning;that this was the best stay she has had, the reception, welcome and service was excellent

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Northfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northfield Hotel

Address: Northfield Road, Minehead TA24 5PU, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Northfield Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minehead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Northfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minehead's Premier Hotel Accomodation for rest and relaxation. Located in the heart of Exmoor's National Park Minehead offers a delightful harbour setting with sweeping sandy beaches and the rugged Quantock Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Northfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Minehead
Minehead Best Western
Northfield Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.