We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed visit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bethany Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bethany Guest House to your Saves list
Bethany Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 Townsend Road, Minehead TA24 5RG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 Minehead B&B and Inns
Ajax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Place has changed hands since my last visit. The Owner is not friendly and the bedroom and shower were dirty. We were 5 minutes late for breakfast and the owner made it very clear that a cooked breakfast was not available. Breakfast is an extra cost when previous it was included. If You Want breakfast walk down to The Duke of Wellington its worth it. I would NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethanyGuestHouse, Owner at Bethany Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
I am really sorry you were disappointed with Bethany Guest House. We strive for high standards and care and attention to guests needs. We offer the option for guests to have bed and breakfast, or room only for those people who prefer to lie in, or who do not eat breakfast, and am very flexible with times for breakfast to suit guests needs. I am sorry that on this one instance I was unable to accommodate for late breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    10
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
18
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nynäshamn
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

As a tourist you probably just spend the night in Minehead and the guest-house is OK for that.
No surprises.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and it was OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I’m very disappointed that comments posted on 30th October 2011 do not seem to have been addressed with regards to the en-suite shower area in room 2, it is indeed in need of some cleaning and re-sealing! Apart from that we enjoyed our stay, owner Nicola is lovely and breakfast was great but please Nicola do something about that shower area in room 2.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethanyGuestHouse, Owner at Bethany Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I do appreciate your comments and do take seriously both yours and all other feedback. I am addressing the shower rooms and the bathrooms in the guest house and will be carrying out an upgrade programme before the end of this year.

It was lovely to meet you and to have you stay here. I hope you will return and that I am able to show you the improvements we will have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We were very impressed with the Bethany Guest house the rooms were clean and beautiful the owner Nicola very helpful and lovely! Food was great and would recommend this to anyone,

The negative review below is totally incorrect we stayed in room two and it was clean and great no falling apart furniture anywhere!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Just come back from a night here, staying in room 2. Overall for this place would be 4/5. The landlady was lovely and accomadating, the b+b was clean and tidy and very close to butlins, just a 10 min walk. Breakfast although had to pay extra for this at £5 per head it was very nice. We had the family room and it was sufficient for what we needed, the only tiny issue would be the noisy pipes as it is a old old house, it didnt bother me but my friend didnt get much sleep. Overall I would recommend this b +b and would use it again. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This weekend just gone, I travelled down to Minehead from Merseyside for a Job Interview at the Butlins in Minehead and stayed over at Bethany Guest House for the night before the Interview. I can honestly say this is a luxurious B&B and I would recommend it to anybody. The rooms were lovely and spot on, the staff were friendly and welcoming and very helpful, the area of the B&B is right in the middle of things, everything is to the highest standard of cleanliness, and I couldn't have asked for a better night's sleep. The food was brilliant, having a flatscreen HD television made me feel right at home in the middle of the night, and everything you could need or want was provided. I was even given a lift in her car to Butlins the next day by one of the hotel staff, which was really great of her. I stayed in a Double Room with En-suite Bathroom. I rate this Guest House 11/10 and would definetely stay there in the future, but luckilly I got the job in Butlins so I'll be living down the road soon enough anyhow. Definetely worth a stay for anybody!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I went here with my 2 small children and we had a great time. The guesthouse is close to the centre of things, including Butlins where the kids had a fab day out. The rooms are a great size - we had plenty of space for the 3 of us, and they were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good - really good selection and made to order, the service was efficient and friendly - we fely genuinely welcome - nothing was too much trouble. We will be booking in again the next time we visit Minehead

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bethany Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethany Guest House

Address: 10 Townsend Road, Minehead TA24 5RG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bethany Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bethany Guest House in Minehead offers 4 star silver bed & breakfast accommodation in a beautiful Edwardian building with a relaxed and informal atmosphere. The Guest House is situated in a convenient, central Minehead location; minutes away from local shops, restaurants, the sea-front and the Minehead West Somerset Railway Station. Off street parking to the front of the guest house. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Bethany Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethany Guest House Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bethany Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.