We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Branch out and try the specials” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alcombe Tandoori

Alcombe Tandoori
67 Alcombe Road, Minehead, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 81 Restaurants in Minehead
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Branch out and try the specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Good curries, lovely breads and sweet and friendly waiters. The curries were very tasty, with an interesting variety to choose from especially under the 'chef's specials' sections. The lamb was a bit tough, but the curry it was in was delicious so perhaps we were unlucky with the piece of meat.
The tables for four are definitely a bit on the small size even for our family of average weight and height but that is only a very small downside on an otherwise comfortable and enjoyable evening.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    38
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“My favourite Tandoori”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We go to a Indian restaurant every week for a meal (usually around London) and this is by far our favourite Tandoori anywhere. Its a pity we can only eat here 4 or 5 times a year when we visit family, but it is a 400 mile round trip. The quality of the food is so much better than our local Tandoori restaurants. We have never had a bad meal or dish in the 6 years we have eaten there. We always find parking in the side streets.
Highly recommended

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“No Parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were on holiday in the area and fancied an Indian Take Away.

We did try and ask people but got no joy. I keep forgetting to use TripAdvisor after all I make a fair number of contributions!

Anyway I had seen this place as we drove past the day before and it looked very nice.

I ordered two meals with poppadoms and it came to just over £20.

I thought it was on the expensive side as where I come from they give a 20% discount for TA.

Having said that it was a very nice meal you should not be disappointed.

As a measure of its popularity there was also a party of about 20 in who I suspect must have been locals so that tells you something!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Returned after a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Our local Indian . We use to come here at least twice a month , but as you can see by the reviews it's not cheap.We now visit once every 6 weeks or so .Still good food ,plenty to choose from on their menu nice atmosphere friendly staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really a waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel unwelcome.
The food came 50 minutes after we'd ordered it ~ half way through this wait we were told it was coming in a few minutes ~ not true.
Food was not hot and then the bill took forever to come.
Went to the bar to pay ~ the staff member shortchanged us ~ the rude manager stepped in and practically slammed each coin down on the counter.
I won't be recommending this restaurant to anyone ~ quite the opposite.

For what we ate ~ the attitude of the manager and the quality and price of the food there are better Indian restaurants in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcombe Tandoori also viewed

Minehead, Somerset
Minehead, Somerset
 
Minehead, Somerset
Minehead, Somerset
 

Been to Alcombe Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alcombe Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.