We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Duke of Wellington

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duke of Wellington
Save
You added The Duke of Wellington to your Saves list
Wellington Square, Minehead TA24 5NH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 39 Minehead B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here 17th and 18th sept 2013 it was very clean and the staff where very helpfull and could not do enough for you .The food was excellent and not to exspensive i will definatly be going back .We have actually booked it for next year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear DannyG55,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and even more pleased to hear you have re-booked. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    32
    15
    10
See reviews for
27
60
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Decided to take a last minute trip for two nights with my partner to Minehead. Booked through Tripadvisor and had a great deal on the already reasonably priced rooms.
On booking in the main bar area was welcoming and clean, we were given our room key (109) and as we entered we were both pleasantly surprised. The main bedroom was of adequate size, modern and lovely high ceilings. Adjoining the bedroom was a large bathroom, then a separate toilet. Both the bathroom and toilet area were spotless, can't fault anything about it.
The only small hiccup about our stay was how warm the corridor and bedroom was, felt like being in a sauna! However, we were able to open the window so a slight breeze came through.
Overall a great place to stay on a budget however, Minehead itself has very little to see and do unless you are of the older generation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear SLKat,

It's good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and felt the accomodation and pub area to be of a very high standard. The issue with the heat is being looked into and I hope this won't deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

was lovley room just done up very nice , no lift 2 lots of stairs but that was ok , there is a chair lift to the first floor staff lovley place very nice, room was small but very nicely done very clean was quite hot but there was a fan in the room to use , breakfast in the pub was good wetherspoons you had to pay but so cheap and on till 12pm so no rush which was nice

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear yvonne1966,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Duke of Wellington.

There has been issues with the heat and we are looking into this we hope this won't stop you rebooking and coming back.

We look forward to your return.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband and 2 children aged 12 & 9 . The hotel is well located in the town , and we had made arrangements for parking so that wasn't a problem for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful , particularly the lovely lady on reception ( short blonde hair and glasses) who always asked us about how our day had been ! Our family room was very spacious and spotlessly clean.
The only negative I can say was that we didn't get much sleep in 3 nights, due to the fact that the bar is open till midnight midweek so there was noise from al -fresco drinkers constantly. Also we were in a side room and had the noise from the adjacent building's air conditioning unit running all night. The room was very warm so we had no choice but to leave the window open and the noisy fan on ( no air con) . My children were on a double sofa bed which was very hard and uncomfortable and too small for them. Single beds would have been better as the room was big enough to fit them in. Im sure had we have asked ,we would have been moved without any problem, but it would have meant much upheaval on my part as we'd unpacked all our stuff.

To summarise , a lovely little hotel, but lack of sleep would mean I wouldn't return, which is a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Baxterbiff,

We are glad that you enjoyed your room we are aware of the heat in the rooms and are looking into this so unfortunatly we only have the use of fans.

I will pass your message your onto our receptionist who made you feel very welcome and we are very sorry that due to the noise you will not be returning.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

sorry to say we only stayed for two nights wish it could have been longer, couldn't have wished for more. Room was very clean and spacious and the staff were very helpful, nothing was to much trouble. can't wait to go back again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Christine H,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Duke of Wellington and we look forward to your return.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our room was on the second floor, and was quite spacious. It was very warm when we stayed so we were very happy to find a fan in the room. I had a few gripes, there was no drawers in the room, which meant we lived out of our cases, and on a 4 night stay that is not ideal, there was also only 1 chair, again not ideal in a double room. I also felt that 6 hangers between 2 people was not enough. The room was nice and clean and the bed comfy, and coffee etc was restocked daily. As it was so warm we needed the windows to be open, and although there was some noise from the night club we didn't find it too excessive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Dawn D,

We are glad you felt the room was nice and spacious unfortunatly none of our rooms have any drawers we have placed a shelf into the wardrobe.

We hope to see you in the near future and the issues you have will not stop you staying with us again.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As with all Wetherspoon lodges we've stayed in - you can't fault the staff on the desk. Very polite and informative. Our room, 207, was overlooking the back of the hotel. The room was small but adequate - the ensuite shower room was again adequate - but tiny. The lodge is situated at the top of the main street - parking is a nightmare. Luckily for us my Grandmother lives in Minehead, so I knew where I would find parking - but if you don't know Minehead, you'll need to have a drive around. You could try the roads behind the lodge, or (not so close but less narrow) I'd recommend driving past the CofE Church, and try the roads opposite the Esso garage / Catholic Church - we found parking on Warden Road. The corridors where the rooms situated all have locked doors going off the staircase - which is a bit more added security. The room though was insanely hot - and it was in the cooler mid part of August. There was a fan in our room, but it wasn't enough unfortunately.

Room Tip: 207 overlooks the back, but our room was a bit dark. The higher up you go - the quieter it is, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Bilboroly,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you stated lucky enough you know the roads in Minehead and we do direct people when staying here pass the esso garage otherwise the long stay car park which is suituated at the bottom of the road.

We look forward to your return.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington

Address: Wellington Square, Minehead TA24 5NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Wellington Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duke of Wellington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.