We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The third year - brilliant, but don't tell anyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silcombe Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silcombe Farm
Save
You added Silcombe Farm to your Saves list
Porlock Weir, Minehead TA24 8JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 39 Minehead B&B and Inns
Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The third year - brilliant, but don't tell anyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Jane and Henry are wonderful hosts.
The breakfasts are as good as ever and the scenery and views are beautiful.
Interestingly, what used to be the nearest pub (The Culbone) has been changed to a restaurant - although they do have a bar - presumably to keep the regulars happy.
The food was excellent and Jane and Henry were more than happy to run us there.
Initially, we thought it was going to be a modern bistro restaurant, but we were pleasantly surprised with the quality.

Room Tip: Suitable for anyone - from single travellers to families. The back room (with two beds) has a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights and although we were a bit concerned that they didn't have a website our fears were unfounded. Lovely clean spacious rooms, excellent breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for Jane and her husband. To top it all perfect location right on the south west coast path with lovely views of the sea. A must !!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My partner and I had the most lovely night staying at Silcombe farm. We found it by chance on the internet (no picture of the room )but it just looked a lovely place to stay out in the middle of Exmoor. The room was very big and absolutely gorgeous with a nice chaise longue in it . The landlady was welcoming but very respectful of privacy but when she saw that i liked to chat she was very friendly. There were stunning views out of the windows and its only a short walk to Culbone Church ( the smallest parish church in England) which is delightful. It was a very cold night when we stayed but the heating was really powerful so no problems with being cold which we did experience at another guest house. Breakfast was really yummy and in all honesty I cannot fault the place at all. I have even recommended it to a shop owner in Dunster to give to people if they are looking for B & B in the area. Don't miss it if you like the countryside and want to wake up in peace and quiet with stunning views this is the place for you. NB It is a working farm but the farm house is set back from the main farm I think and it is all very clean and well presented

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Last month we visited Silcombe. Nothing has changed since last year.
Jane and Henry were just as helpful. They have the best breakfasts of anyone - with mainly home grown products.
Lovely rooms - stunning scenery. They should be full time hoteliers as they do such a splendid job.
Give up the farming and come and run my local hotel. I am sure you will do a better job.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Really enjoyed our 1 night stay at Silcombe Farm in July. Jane was a wonderful host - very friendly and helpful, and was happy to drop us off in Bossington so that we could walk back to the farm for our overnight stay. We opted for an evening meal which was delicious. The room was delightful and the bathroom immediately next door so no real worries about not having an en suite. The breakfast was good too - even had blueberries and yogurt plus herbal tea - v unusual in England! Good for walkers as it's right on the coastal path between Porlock Weir and Lynmouth and you can catch a bus back on a Sunday at 5.05pm which will drop you off within a short walk to the farm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

A lovely farmhouse in a wonderful location on the edge of Exmoor, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. The owners are hospitable and very friendly. Our bedroom was pretty, large and extremely comfortable. The food was amazing - almost all home-grown, and including freshly-baked bread! A real find! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Excellent location for walking the South West Coast Path. It is well signposted from Culbone. Picturesque setting. Very quiet. Colourful garden for sitting outside.

Double aspect room with fine views. Pub up the road, where Jane the proprietor would have taken us to, was closed so Jane kindly cooked an excellent dinner for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silcombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silcombe Farm

Address: Porlock Weir, Minehead TA24 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Silcombe Farm Minehead, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silcombe Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.