We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers At Blue Anchor

Smugglers At Blue Anchor
Blue Anchor, Minehead TA24 6JS, England
+44 1984 640385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 81 Restaurants in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Smugglers Inn situated a stones through from Blue Anchor beach. Walking distance to 3 caravan parks and a 5 minute drive from one other. Child friendly Dog friendly - all dogs must be well behaved and kept on a lead at all times. Reservations welcome. Large function room available to hire. Hot and cold buffets available in our large function room (pre-orders necessary.)
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“birthday party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to The Sugglers for my daughters 18th birthday. She picked the venue and the guest list for 25 people. The service was excellent, the food was fantastic!!! I would rate it 100%. Simon kept in contact with us through out, helping us organise the party, the menu selection ,as we had 25 guests we gave them 3 choices of starters and mains. They assisted us with the birthday cake we brought with us, putting on the candles ( that we forgot ) the table arrangements was a choice between the both of us. Definently recommened it everyone, We will be going again!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    50
    22
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average food , friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal here whilst staying at Blue Anchor holiday park and food was ok , my whitebait was good but bread tasteless , the rest of our food was ok my fish special of hake was nice but could of done with a bit more on the plate apart from the mash underneath and my wife's and sons steak was ok but overpriced at 14.95 as was nothing special and then couldn't pay by card as machine not working so lucky I just had enough cash to scrape through meaning I had no money until I managed to find a cash point the next day .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at Home Farm two years ago and the 200 yard walk to "The Smugglers Inn" proved irresistible on the first night of our stay. I think we ate there for five nights out of our seven night stay as it was so good. The friendly service and quality of food and drink was superb. I have yet to taste a better pint of ale than the "Smuggled Otter" that is served there.
We stayed at the same site in July this year along with my mum (staying in a nearby B&B). It was Mum's first holiday since Dad died in March. Having read scary reviews on this site that "The Smugglers" may have closed/changed hands just before we went, I have to say I was rather worried.
As it turned out, having had a bit of a refurbishment, all was reassuringly similar if not better. We ate there three times and Mum was very complimentary about the food. As she is an ex home economics teacher that means high praise indeed !
Just booked up for a week next summer and all I can hope is that the wonderful enterprise that is now called "The Smugglers Retreat" is still thriving. In my opinion, it fully deserves to. Well done Simon and crew. I'm sure you will get used to that computer/till device eventually !
I look forward to my next visit.
Andy

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food & service, friendly staff, great cause & ethos to support”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We first dined here many years ago when it was called the Smugglers Inn and it was really good then. It has fairly recently been taken over and whilst maintaining the front of house restaurant is being turned into a retreat for brave ex servicemen to help them adjust to life away from conflict. A great aspiration so cause that deserves support. However the food, service and restaurant stands alone without all that and was a good experience which I would recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Inspirational place.....and great food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

First of all...much respect to what is being achieved here....a wonderful retreat for our wounded soldiers, & to help them re- integrate into civilian life....the pictures on the walls make you feel quite emotional....and if that wasn't enough....the food was excellent too ! Very friendly barmaid, good range of beers for hubby, large glasses of good Chardonnay for me....happy days !
The sardines on toast starter was huge and very fresh...lamb rump and cauliflower cheese mains excellent, and the almond & ginger bakewell with honeycomb ice-cream...just yummy !!
I wasn't aware of the charity true heroes.org before eating here, but would recommend everyone who's in the area visit this place....not least because the food is so worth it !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers At Blue Anchor also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers At Blue Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers At Blue Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.