We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cox's Lane | Midgham, Newbury RG7 5UP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Newbury
east anglia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“nice accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I spent four nights here while I was doing a course in the area, check in was great, the guy was really helpful, rooms are nice with drinks making facilities, but for me the bed was a bit hard, breakfast was good and had a nice variety, the room was cleaned to a very high standard, obviously I was not there during the day, but again the evening meals were really nice with a good choice on the menu, most people who were there were single visitors who were also mainly on some kind of course with their work, so most people kept themselves. the dining staff were very friendly and efficient, when I come to this area for my next course I will not hesitate to stay here again, so I would like to say thankyou

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    46
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
13
41
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This used to be an excellent hotel with good food, excellent service and comfy rooms.
However, returning after a two year break, the West Grange is not what it used to be.

I got a basic room (even with a rewards card even though it didn't seem full) which was OK.
The beds are a bit lumpy and the box TV looks really out of place with it's poor picture and limited channels.

The evening food isn't too bad, but the breakfast was dire. Even though I ate at 7:30am, the food was cold on cold plates, ugh. The polish waitresses just stood there chatting.

I'll be giving the West Grange a miss in future - there's plenty others around.

Room Tip: Get an Exec room at the back or don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here whilst driving around the country for various meetings. Nice setting but that's about the sum total of the pluses unfortunately. The room was basic - not an issue when you are only there for about 10 hours overnight - but the hot water didn't work. Informed reception who simply said "thanks for letting us, we'll get maintenance on to it'. Not even a word of apology. The room was sweltering and the staff at the end of the night decided to hold an impromptu sing-a-long in the inner courtyard. With the window open to cool the room, I could join in very easily! Quite a few things were off the menu which left little choice. The restaurant is clean and roomy but the staff seemed subdued and lacklustre. My colleagues room was, according to him, just fine so I guess it's a case of hit and miss at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Found this hotel whilst looking for somewhere to stay so that we could visit Highclere Castle (Downton Abbey). We were not disappointed. The room was clean and tidy. The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious-especially the lamb shank!
The location is good, on the main road but set back so there is no noise nuisance.Plenty to see and do We visited Avebury stone circles, Hungerford and Kintbury (canal locks).
Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex, england
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staying here as a stopover for a day at the races at Newbury. Hotel about 10min drive from Newbury but tucked away in a quiet town.
Hotel itself was tidy and felt like it was either quite new or had been renovated recently. Rooms fairly good standard with small but modern en suite, TV, and decent amount of space.
Parking is free and seemed enough spaces if the hotel was busy.
On a plus, reception staff really friendly and accommodating - and were happy to reserve tables/ring taxi's etc.
Breakfast next morning was OK, just some cereal, fruit and selection from a hot buffet - a little slow on refreshing the plates, but it was quite busy and we were in no rush!
Only downsides were - both rooms lacked hot water for a shower, the best we got was luke warm. My room the TV was not connected so could not use that, and in the other room, a nice surprise lurking in the toilet when we arrived....which is a bit off putting and really should have been washed away before the room was made available...YUK!
However, on departure I did mention the water and TV and the room rate was promptly reduced which was appreciated. We were a little embarrassed to discuss the other thing....!
All said and done - would stay again if I happened to be in the area...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We chose this Hotel because it was one of the Best Western Chain. We have found all of their hotels reliable in the past. On check in, we were offered a free upgrade to a better double room. On inspection, we decided to stay with the twin room we had booked as it seemed quite adequate for our two night stay. The staff were courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant had a reasonable menu. Although the situation was fairly rural. we found it most convenient in terms of National Trust and villages we wanted to see. We would return if going back to the same area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice hotel where we stayed for Friday and Saturday nights. The service was very good, the breakfast was good although the cooked buffet could have been slightly hotter. It was very quiet and our room was very clean and comfortable. Our only quibble was the bed which we found much too hard, but I guess that might be personal taste. Yes I would stay here again

Room Tip: choose room 216 or 217 as these are furthest from lift and so very few people go pass them banging t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel

Address: Cox's Lane | Midgham, Newbury RG7 5UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newbury
Newbury Best Western
BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel Newbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.