We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go again!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brebis

Brebis
16 Bartholomew Street | Newbury, Newbury rg14 5ll, England
+44 1635 40527
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 153 Restaurants in Newbury
Price range: $18 - $53
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Relaxed family-run bistro offering great wines and lovingly prepared french food. Bistro/pintxos style lunch menu and full a la carte evening menu open wednesday to saturday, lunch and dinner
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Would go again!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I went to Brebis for lunch, and was very happy with the experience. The Wine was fantastic and reasonably priced, as was the food. Friendly service and a nice setting were an added bonus. The only improvement that I could think of would be a bit more choice on the lunch menu... But given the fantastic price, this is a minor comment.

While I was there, the Restaurants wine suppliers were holding a meeting and enjoying some food themselves, which goes to show just how close this establishment is with their suppliers. It was an eye opening experience seeing how passionate these individuals were about the products they sell to Brebis.

I look forwards to returning for the full evening menu, and spending a great deal of time enjoying everything this Gem has to offer.

2 courses and wine for two from the lunch menu came to £35, worth every penny.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel M, Owner at Brebis, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to seeing you one evening.
The Brebis Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    26
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Xmas party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had the task of organising this year’s work party Christmas bash. We were charmed by the atmosphere and friendly staff at Brebis - deciding the venue was an easy choice.

Brebis catered for 25 people which were no mean feat. On the night we were overwhelmed by the attentive staff and fantastic food Brebis offered.

We would highly recommend this venue to any one considering a Christmas get together not only because the food tastes great but the staff really make this place memorable.

Brebis - thank you for helping us make this years Christmas bash a success!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel M, Owner at Brebis, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Were glad you enjoyed your Christmas party, our pleasure.
The Brebis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great independent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very difficult to find fault in the food, all dishes beautifully presented and tasted fantastic. Along with other reviews the lighting could be a little less bright, service was good though they were obviously struggling, but I know they are addressing this. I can over look these small matters for the wonderful food. It is a great addition to Newbury and it is really good to go to some where that isn't a chain. The private dining room looks good as well, would suit a grown ups birthday party.
Thanks you for opening Brebis in Newbury

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel M, Owner at Brebis, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your review, were glad you loved the food. We have now been open for some months and we have rectified the lighting issues with our electricians. We think the dimmable lighting does indeed, as you say, create a better atmosphere.
Thank you again for you kind comments.
The Brebis Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Foodies - the best place in Newbury by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Absolutely outstanding food and the friendliest of service!

At last, Newbury has an excellent independent restaurant that is ran by people who are passionate about good, fresh and carefully sourced food, cooked to perfection.

The all french wine list has been carefully chosen to complement the wonderful cuisine. There are no hideously expensive Lynch Bages, Leoville les Cases, Margaux etc., just reasonably priced well sourced wines from all over France to cater for all palettes.

The menu changes regularly, and there is also an excellent lunch time menu that changes daily. A true taste of France at home in Newbury.

This is a small and intimate restaurant, but you won't have anyone sitting on your shoulder - the tables are well placed to give a reasonable amount of conversation privacy, and there's even a private dining room.

By far the best restaurant in Newbury - I will certainly be frequenting Brebis.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samuel M, Owner at Brebis, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we're so glad you enjoyed yourself.
The Brebis Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breath of French Air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

So happy that we have an independent restaurant again in Newbury. Ate there on Saturday, excellent food , we all said we could have happily eaten everything on the menu. beautifully cooked and presented , and a friendly relaxed atmosphere.
It is clear this is all chosen prepared and presented by people that care about food and want to do an excellent job. Could not fault anything really only would have liked the vegetables and puds to be slightly more generous as all were delicious .
Keep it up , we are very local and will support you often, other independents here in the past have let their standards slip then people don't come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brebis also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Brebis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brebis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.