We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Donnington Castle

Donnington Castle
Donnington, Newbury, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Attractions in Newbury
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Brundall, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Well, there's not all that much to see, as the castle is a ruin, but on a nice spring day (which we were lucky enough to have) it makes a very pleasant visit, and the history of the castle is fascinating. You can read about it at the foot of the hill and then walk up to the castle.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    29
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not a great deal to see of the Castle imagination is needed. What makes up for it is the views and the walks around the Castle which were nice with the bluebells out galore.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very nice view of the surrounding countryside from Donnington Castle. We enjoyed the relaxing outing and its a lovely place for a picnic. One of the few thing that you don't have to pay for parking or entry. Nice spot to take the family when they come to visit. Will definitely go again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Impressive castle ruins, and great for kite flying!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a pretty fabulous site - just outside Newbury, you can drive almost to the foot of the hill and get parked up. No charges are made for parking or entry to the site.
Only the gatehouse remains but you can look through the gates and look up to the impressive decorated stonework above.
Its pretty special having such an historic site so close by - handy to impress house guests and visitors alike!
It is also one of the best places to fly a kite - the breeze near the top has never let us down. We even took my American cousin along, and he had his first kite flying lesson here. There cant be many better places to learn!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pretty what ever the weather.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice now and look forward to my next visit. Both times its been windy but we just find a bit of wall to huddle behind and have a picnic, its great fun. My son loves to just run around. Its all free, parking and entry. There is a nice walk at the bottom of the hill from the car park. Its a lovely place and worth 2 or 3 hour visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donnington Castle also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Donnington Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donnington Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.