We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding was everything we dreamed of and more...thank you!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newbury Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newbury Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Newbury Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Newbury RG14 2BY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Our wedding was everything we dreamed of and more...thank you!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thank you doesn't seem enough...we were married in the wedding garden, had an afternoon tea reception and evening hog roast with rodeo and disco and a rubber duck race in the middle...it was perfect. Jamie and the team were fantastic and greeted every request warmly throughout the planning and the entire day. We truly had the most magical, relaxed wedding day and cannot recommend you all highly enough. You all laughed and smiled with us and contributed to our lives in such a special way.
Justin and Claire Hughson 31.8.13

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    93
    55
    31
    23
See reviews for
41
121
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We held our wedding reception at the Newbury Manor and it was perfect! Jamie the manager was not only entirely professional, efficient and courteous, but friendly and went out of his way to make us and our guests feel relaxed and at home. The reception itself was brilliant, with the grounds beautiful, the food ideal and yummy, the layout of the venue worked perfectly for our needs. Many of our guests stayed over night there to and had a fabulous breakfast the next day at the riverside cafe...
I can not fault it!
Excellent service and I would recommend it to anyone!

Jo and Colin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic grounds and good location. Very helpful staff and the food was reasonable.
Ideal for families and people that enjoy some peace and quiet. However, an elevator to the rooms would have been handy.
But overall great and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great hotel with lovely grounds which had a river running through it with ducks and swans, very pretty. Very happy with room which was large with flat screen tv, trousers press and tea and coffee making facilities. Great staff I e-mailed them to say it was my birthday and was allocated a balcony room overlooking river which was lovely. Very enjoyable breakfast made fresh and was very filling. Cannot fault the place, only one little thing the website stated it was 5 minutes from Newbury racecourse but thats 5 minutes by car not walking, we caught a taxi in and it cost about £7 - the hotel booked the taxi for us as well so great service. Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We held a wedding reception at Newbury Manor at the weekend and were very pleased with the service we received. Nothing was too much bother both on the day and in the run-up to the event - every request was met with a smile and a 'no problem'. On the day, the staff did all they could to make it go smoothly and were helpful and polite at all times. A big thanks to Jamie and the team for making our party such a success!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lovely looking hotel. Very pleasant staff, nice clean room. Excellent breakfast made cooked to order - you can't ask for more from a hotel. The canarvon suite was one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. Will definatly recommend and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the canal, it's very pretty. Hotel did negotiate a room upgrade but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed end of Jul/Aug over 2 weeks on business. Rooms were spotless and comfy with fresh bedding and towels daily. Ate breakfast most days due to work schedules but had evening dinner every night and the food was fantastic. Sat inside and outside and the setting is lovely with the relaxing sound of the stream! Ideal after work. All the staff were polite, helpful and always smiling. A real pleasure to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newbury Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Manor Hotel

Address: London Road, Newbury RG14 2BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Newbury Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Manor Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newbury Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.