We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Park Hotel to your Saves list
Regency Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Newbury
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very comfortable with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just used this as an overnight stay. Bed very comfy, room large and clean. Breakfast was very good, well stocked buffett had fruit salad and finished with poached egg (exceptional, compliments to the chef) and smoked salmon with toast on the side, most enjoyable.

Staff very friendly and professional.

Had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read your positive comments and will be pleased to share this feedback with the team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    128
    61
    20
    8
See reviews for
54
153
14
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walton on Thames
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very big, warm, uncrowded pool, new steam room, delicious dinner and excellent friendly service throughout.
It has health club members but they hardly seemed to appear, so we had pool virtually to ourselves. Building and grounds are nothing special, but it was a great place to escape bad spring weather and really relax.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a top quality room as they didn't have any other twins going, and it was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the lovely review. We’re particularly proud of our leisure and spa facilities and I’m delighted to learn you enjoyed them so extensively.
We look forward to your return and perhaps we could get that elusive 5th star!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Booked this hotel through Laterooms.com for a one night B&B stay when traveling as a couple from Yorkshire to Southampton. Arrived about 7.30pm after a 4 hour drive. First impressions were good, Reception staff very polite and welcoming, The double room was very clean and modern, TV, Tea & coffee, shampoo etc. After a snack in the Bar we retired for a relaxing evening.
Whilst watching TV in our room there was a constant drone/werrring sound coming from somewhere, i put it down to "maybe we were above the kitchens or Spa area" and it would finish soon. I slept from approximately 10pm to 3am when i woke to here this constant drone.From then to 7.am was just annoying to say the least, after a bit of investigating the noise was coming through the radiator. We checked out at 8.am and i mentioned the noise to the receptionist who said she would make a note (room 246) Then they tried to charge me another £29.50 for breakfast but i'd booked B&b through laterooms, after a lot of faffing about i produced my booking document which showed breakfast included. Our one night stay was not a happy one but there are many good reviews, i would not stay at this hotel again.Sorry

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Please be assured that we are dealing with your comments and feedback and will ensure that we improve the areas you have highlighted to us. I do hope you will give us the benefit of the doubt and return sometime in the future.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just come back from a couple of days staying at the Regency Park Hotel and we definitely will be back. I chose it because it is near the racecourse and I was treating my husband for his 50th. I have stayed in many hotels over the years (ranging from 1 to 5 star) and I can honestly say that this hotel gives you real value for money. It isn't luxurious but what you get is good comfort, our room was spacious, it had two easy chairs and a settee so we were able to relax without having to sit on the bed to watch the TV. When we went to our room there was a birthday card for my husband from all the staff. The staff are so friendly and accommodating and dinner on both night was excellent. Well done to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay here at the Regency Park Hotel. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, location, food and design. We really appreciate such a helpful review. I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stay here a lot, the staff are excellent, the rooms comfortable and a good size. Recommend making time for breakfast before you leave!

Recommend avoiding the rooms on floor 2 as they can be a little on the stuff side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay, I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and many thanks for the “best in Newbury” accolade! I hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Birthday treat and what a treat it was! The staff were excellent, from check in to directions to dinner and everything in between, nothing was too much trouble but not over the top with it.
The spa was fantastic, great sauna and steam room, nice sized pool. Great changing facilities too. The use of all the facilities is a real bonus as you can enjoy the hotel to its full capacity and as its private members and hotel guest only, it wasn't too busy.
The food was to a very high standard, silver service which is always a nice touch. We had the pâté which was a little disappointing, but the cod was light and tasty. My partner had the chicken which was delicious, full of flavour and very moist. Ginger creme brûlée and baileys cheesecake for dessert which was also fantastic although the accompaniments were a little disappointing.
The bedrooms were nice, not a massive fan of the decor and the pillows were a little soft for our tastes, but it was clean and fairly comfortable.
Overall I would say with a little work to the decor this place could be a high end hotel with a very reasonable price tag.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much! I am justifiably proud of my team and the efforts they take to ensure that all guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. Receiving comments such as these really are appreciated.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an ideal hotel if you want to visit Highclere Castle [Downton Abbey]

We had a standard room inc half board for £100 and the executive rooms are £120 but have a balcony.

Nice room very clean and excellent meal that evening however Breakfast was the highlight.

Very good quality bacon and sausage and eggs cooked just as you want.[I hate eggs that have been sitting there for ages]

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for such a glowing review. Your comments are really appreciated especially with regard to our quality breakfast.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Park Hotel

Address: Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#6 Family Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary AA 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Regency Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Newbury
Regency Park Hotel Newbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.