We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for me!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Park Hotel to your Saves list
Regency Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Newbury
St Davids
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Good facilities, nice hotel, great staff!

I like the place and the staff are fab. Honest review not connected to hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to use the Gym or pool ask for a room close to the leisure centre or you might have a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback. All of us here are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    126
    61
    20
    8
See reviews for
53
153
14
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Have used this hotel on several occasions for family functions, always been impressed with the attitude of the people working at the hotel in whatever capacity. The rooms are large and clean with good amenities.
The package we had include a 3-course dinner, and all 10 of us found the food excellent.
There was a slight issue at breakfast where a group of us sat down and were served by three different waitresses who appeared just to mix up the order.
All in all I would recommend and will use again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments regarding both the hotel and the staff. Please be assured that your experience at breakfast will be fed back to the team in order to improve levels of service going forward. I am delighted to read that you have stayed with us on more than one occasion and hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in an Executive room with a very good special offer. The room was a very good size, clean and comfortable. Rather hot and stuffy even with the windows open, but overall a pleasure to stay in. The food was much better than expected and no hardship to eat in the restaurant 2 nights in a row. The lemon posset dessert was exceptional! Staff were all very friendly and happy to help - this is so unusual these days and they should be commended for it. All in all a very positive experience and better than expected.

Room Tip: There was quite a lot of noise with windows open during the night - but there was a wedding party st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Ms Morgan,
Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your recent stay here at the Regency. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us. I shall be pleased to share your feedback with the team and all of us look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Well what was I thinking, a lovely spa weekend turned into a nightmare, staff especially were so rude. Thought I walked into a Chave hotel, it's like the staff had never seen two indian girls. They could not cater for our needs, when they did they had so many hidden charges. Front line manager has no mangerial skills what so ever. Restaurant staff just talk all day no work, asked them to bring me toast both morning never received anything but so quick to charge me for couple of egg whites.
When we got to the spa, no bath robes oh dear some one forgot to do the washing! I have been to so many hotels with less stars and never complained but ths hotel should not even get 1 star! The staff made us feel very uncomfortable and to all those that are out there maybe looking to go, DO NOT DO IT,

Room Tip: My tip, do not go, it only caters for Chavs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for you your review. I am obviously very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were on a dinner bed and breakfast package for 2 nights with some spa treatments on one of those days. Our prices for all the services outside of the package that you purchased are clearly presented on all the menus that you chose from. The absence of the bath robes was an oversight for which I apologise.

I have to say that your review is very one sided. Your behaviour on the first night left much to be desired and bordered on being abusive. This was even more evident when some other guests left the restaurant citing your behaviour as the reason for their early departure.

If you would like to contact me directly I would be more than happy to discuss this matter further with you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Here we are with another review written from the venue whilst staying here. The old saying of 1st impressions count has never been so true than when you stay in a hotel for the 1st time.

Nice modern decor, spacious and well appointed room, peaceful location, good service at reception, great leisure facilities. It stops there!

The bar - no atmosphere, no background music.. The place has no atmosphere!

The restaurant - I just ate in a restaurant at 7.30 with 3 tables (1+1+2) and three staff. Despite this I waited to be offered bread and another drink for ages but no one spotted them and I had to ask. The young staff seemed more interested in talking around the check in booth near the front door - what seems miles away from the customers . The food was at best ok and for the price WI,ply not worth it. I asked the waitress if he bell pork was crispy, she went to Ask the chef and came back proudly announcing that it was baked for 3 hours and so yes it had a lovely crispy skin. You old think with three hours of baking pork would just fall apart, wrong. The skin was fatty and floppy - no crackles in that crackling - and the meat was tougher than a chewy steak. I waited poised for my moment to comment when the waiter came, grabbed my plate and simply said "finished sir" and took it. At no point did any of the three staff check back during the meal. These are silly stupid things to get wrong and that can ruin a visit from someone that then jumps on trip advisor or worse still tells his many colleagues from the global business in which he works and whom all need rooms !! Food and beverage manager - please take note - its letting the rest of the place down - but thank you for keeping prices realistic on drinks at least.

Room Tip: 119 overlooks the car park but also has a balcony.nbitnnoisy with smokers out the front door though
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. On one hand I am delighted you were pleased with your first impressions, yet on the other very disappointed to learn of your poor dining experience. This really is not good enough and please accept my apologies. I have subsequently met with the Head Chef & Food & Beverage Manager to take on board your feedback and put in place some checks and balances to ensure better consistency.

I do hope that when you next visit Newbury on business that you will give us another chance and see for yourself that this really was a one off blip. Should this be the case then please feel free to contact me direct and I will happily make the necessary arrangements for you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. Staff are friendly and rooms are kitted out ok without being exceptional and the service overall i received at dinner and breakfast was fine.
The big problem (for me) I have about this hotel is how bland and featureless it is. It suffers from its (presumably) early '80's/late '70s low architectural/building quality and there is not an ounce of character about the place. Soundproofing is weak, with every step of my neighbour on the floor above being transmitted through the ceiling to me, and the rooms are overheated with no aircon- it was all just very stuffy.

The hotel was filled with people like me (on business) during the week and lacked any vibrancy.
So while it ticked many of the basics I can't see this being the sort of place that anyone would really look forward to visiting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am very sorry that the hotel ambience did not fully meet your expectations. This is a popular business hotel during the week and at weekends we attract leisure guests who enjoy relaxing in our extensive club & spa.
Should you be visiting the area again, then please do contact me and I hope we can turn your 3 star stay in to something better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Had a very lovely night at the Regency. The pool and gym were very nice, with good gym and pool area. Jacuzzi and the steam room were very nice. The meal deal included in the price for £110 , was very tasyy with good service- always topping up the wine but not the water! The executive room was very clean and polished but there was only one large towel and bottle of water. Overall no complaints and a very good deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryOckwell, General Manager at Regency Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
I very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you were impressed with our facilities.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Park Hotel

Address: Bowling Green Road | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 3RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newbury
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#5 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#6 Family Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and contemporary AA 4 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Regency Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Newbury
Regency Park Hotel Newbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.