We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am being generous!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Three Horseshoes Donnington

Three Horseshoes Donnington
Castle Lane | Donnington, Newbury, England (Formerly Three HorseShoes Donnington)
+44 1635 47878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 146 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Grand opening of this fantastic refurbished village pub. 1st November 2013.Come along and meet the new owners Emma and James and enjoy a drink with complimentary canapes.Food serving times: Monday - closed Tuesday to Friday - 11am till 2.30pm and 6pm till 9pm Saturday - 11am till 9.30pm Sunday - 12pm till 3pm
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I am being generous!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Perhaps I'm wrong, so do go along and give your impressions. At Sunday lunch I found that the starters were distinctly average (soup and charcuterie) but the (home-made?) pâté looked a little more interesting. The main course fell down in terms of both quality and quantity: I would have been disappointed with myself if I had cooked and served it. The vegetables: were satisfactory but the meat was overcooked and not tasty (IMHO) and there were just two fairly small slices of it. The Good Old Boy, on the other hand, was reasonably priced and in good condition.
Perhaps we were just unlucky so do go along and add your favourable impressions with the result that I may one day return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Three Horseshoes Donnington, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi there, thank you for your comment . However the items that you have reviewed were not present on our menu on Sunday? Perhaps you have the wrong three horseshoes?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

2nd work lunch here since it was refurbished, and both times the food has been very good and the service excellent.

Even though the lady behind the bar was alone on this occasion she coped very well, without us really noticing any delay.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Myself and a friend visited here on our way through Newbury after a weekend away. It was a little hard to find as it is only signposted one way from the main road - but it was worth it.
The staff were friendly and welcoming.
The menu was interesting and had a good range on it.
The food was really tasty and well presented - although the roast could have been a little bigger.
The atmosphere was lovely with an open fire and nicely decorated in the main bar area.
I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A perfect place to eat,drink and relax with family and friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Emma and James have created a wonderful atmosphere and have transformed this pub into a welcoming place for all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Took my sister and mother for a birthday meal yesterday at the newly refurbished Three Horseshoes at Donnington, Newbury. They offered a varied menu at great prices, the service was excellent and when the food arrived it was piping hot and delicious, we had a mixture of meals and all of us were very pleased with our choices.
Would highly recommend a visit :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Horseshoes Donnington also viewed

 

Been to Three Horseshoes Donnington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Horseshoes Donnington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.