We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newbury Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newbury Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Newbury Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pinchington Lane, Newbury RG14 7HL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Newbury
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here overnight for a family wedding. Check-in/check-out was very efficient and friendly. The public areas (bar & dining room) are fine but our room, while perfectly acceptable could do with redecoration. Overall we enjoyed our stay, we feel we got very good value for money and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear FrankMoran
Thank you for your feedback on this website.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and that the check-in and check-out was very efficient.
We do have an on going refurbishment program and are working our way through the Hotel but as you can appreciate this does take time but I am confident we will succeed in keeping up our services and standards here at the Hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    130
    140
    104
    65
See reviews for
86
151
24
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel staff were polite and considerate however parts of the hotel are looking a bit tired and noise intrusion in the room which we stayed which backed on to the A339 was very noticeable. Main bed was comfortable however the sofa bed was not the most comfortable sofa bed I have ever slept on. The room was clean and well maintained however there was no lift so those with a lot of luggage may want to request a ground floor room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear JoeM
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
As a Hotel we really value receiving both positive and negative feedback allowing us to focus on where improvements are needed.
The facilities team will look at the window in the room you stayed in and reseal it to avoid the noise disruption for future guests.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at Newbury centre and the room and service was awful. I made a cup of tea and reception knocked on the door saying the smoke alarm was going off. Each time during the evening each time we made a drink the alarm went of and reception came knocking and then asked us to open a window to stop the problem and please don't use the hair dryer as the same problem happens.
I complained in the morning to reception and was told I would receive a call from the manager latter in the morning but I didn't. I was on my way to Southampton to join a cruise so I could not ring after that day. I rang them on my return and was fobbed of as they had not been told. I had completed a online complaint and still they were not interested.

Room Tip: If you stay in Newbury stay at Hilton Newbury North you will receive excellent service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Nannyvon
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
I was very disappointed to read your comments as I had spoken with you and given you an apology for the issues you experienced and had given you a refund as well for the inconvenience.
Once again I am sorry that the alarm went off in your room and that you were disturbed by the staff checking everything was ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fantastic hotel with a remarkable staff. Nothing is ever too much trouble! Rooms are of a decent size, very comfy beds. I always really enjoy food in the restaurant. It's always fresh and a good size portions make it worth the money. Will surely return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Anna g
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I have passed your feedback onto the team for helping you have such a great stay.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent service, cleanliness & personnel, would recommend to any one. They offer an evening meal voucher for a 3 course meal which is excellent value for money. Ideal location for the centre of Newbury, Train Station & Race Course.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear GH
Thank you so much for sending a review following your recent stay.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expectations as a Hilton Hotel.
I have passed your comments onto the team who all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Typical British construction withbeautiful bricks, large gardens, nice overview.....from outside! Inside is poorly decorated, synthetic carpets everywhere, old furniture in the room and bathroom, far far away from Hilton standard of quality and not really a 4* hotel. Breakfast was good. Wifi free in lobby area but 14,99 £ in the room (!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Merengue70
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
Your observations and opinions are appreciated as they enable us to assess the standards of our facilities and services.
I have shared your comments with the management team in order to address the concerns you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here in September with my partner. We are Hilton gold members, as such we try when possible to stay in Hilton properties. This hotel was Listed as deluxe. The city of Newberry is about one hour from heathrow and was on the way to another destination we were heading to. We drove in from heathrow after our overnight flight from the states. Getting to Newberry is easy, finding the hotel was Abithia more difficult. Not well marked. If you are not familiar with driving in England it would have been more of a challenge. When we arrived the hotel is two stories and looks like a renovation of another use either from a school or something else. The lobby was designed like a old English pub. Lots of wood. Check in was smooth. I was surprised when told there was no lift (elevator for us Americans). We were on the second floor, thus had to drag heavy suit cases up the stairs. The room was small but clean. Bed was comfortable but clearly not up to Hilton standards. Very limited power outlets. In fact we purchased a power bar from the local tesco to use. The breakfast buffet was typical English style ( I will never get the bit with canned baked beans from the states for breakfast). We have come to not expect European hotels to match American standards. As such this was a nice hotel. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor if you have heavy luggage as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Herman 49
Thank you for your feedback on this website.
We are sorry we did not get everything right for you on this occasion and we look forward to the opportunity to impress you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newbury Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newbury Centre

Address: Pinchington Lane, Newbury RG14 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newbury Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Newbury Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newbury Centre Hotel Newbury
Newbury Hilton
Hilton Newbury Centre England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newbury Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.