We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hilton Hotel Ever Stayed In” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newbury Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Newbury Centre to your Saves list
Hilton Newbury Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pinchington Lane, Newbury RG14 7HL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Newbury
Oxford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Hilton Hotel Ever Stayed In”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked a Hilton Suite for special occasion with a photgraph of the room showing on the site, split level with open plan. Our room allocated was a suite but not as booked, it was up in the roof of the hotel with one very small window at the sitting area and it was so dirty you could barely see out. Also, there was no aircon, something that I will check in future as all the Hilton Hotels around the World and UK that i have stayed in have all had aircon so I have never needed to check this before. There was a small fan in the room. On complaining to the receptionist who was also the Duty Manager I was given a 50% reduction and the offer of extra fans, it was the hottest day/night of the year so far!
Breakfast was not up to the usual Hilton standard and although only a few guests in the restaurant items were not being topped up! We were so pleased we decided to eat at another venue the night before.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Stonsfieldlads
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Customer service is paramount to us and we are grateful for feedback from all of our guests, as this helps us to constantly improve our facilities and services to continually meet and exceed the expectations of our guests.
We do hope we have th opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    133
    140
    105
    66
See reviews for
86
152
25
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here as part of a conference taking place at the racecourse and had high hopes upon check-in. The entrance foyer and reception are the best parts of this hotel, it goes downhill after that. The bedrooms were extremely dated and not overly clean with a stale smell. Having no lift was also a negative point if your travelling for a few days. The staff were all very friendly and helpful but the standard of the accommodation on offer here by Hilton is below what you would expect for the extortionate price. The heating had only 1 temperature - hot, and the room smelt worse withe the fan on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Joan A
Thank you for comments about your recent stay.
I wish to reassure you that the issues you experienced about the cleaniness of the room have been raised with the facilities team and have been addressed and dealt with.
I trust you will not judge us solely on this experience and you will stay with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballynahinch, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Thought I would treat my wife and young son to a bit of luxury so booked one of their suites as shown on the Hilton website. Well I don't know what that was a photo of but if DEFINITELY isn't a suite in the Hilton Newbury Centre. There was no air conditioning in the room so went back to reception to be told they have NO rooms anywhere in the hotel with air con! The room itself wasn't too bad (as other standard rooms go) but the entire hotel was way too hot and I felt sorry for the staff (who were all very pleasant) having to work in those conditions. I've stayed in many Hilton Hotels on business throughout the UK and this is certainly near the bottom of the pile - give it a miss

Room Tip: If it is going to be hot check the room has air conditioning
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Alan C
Thank you for your comments on this website.
Your observations and opinions are appreciated as they enable us to assess the standards of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.
We are sorry we did not get it right for you on this occasion but we would look forward to the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I feel so sorry for the staff.... A family party for 90 guests held in the hotel on the hottest day of the year, 13/07/13. The hotal's air con had broken down (3 days ago we were informed by 3 members of staff) AND NOT REPAIRED! Awful, everywhere in hotel was like a sauna. I was not asked at time of booking of room preference, 1st room given was a smokers room (WHAT??) get with the times Hilton, that was no good for an asthmatic. Finally got a room change but all other family members not so lucky. Bedding, curtains, towels, whole room smelt of nicotine, disgusting. Breakfast hot & uncomfortable - still no joy with air con. Shortage of freshly cooked food resulted in waiting & waiting & waiting. Cereal bowls & glasses all hot from dishwasher. Even tho air con broke Hilton expected to be paid £4 for 1 litre of water?!! Tired shoddy looking communal areas & slighty snappy staff but that's expected given the shocking heat they were expected to work in, in full suited uniform. EVEN THO' THEY WERE AWARE OF THE AIR CON SITUATION THEY DID NOT OBTAIN HIRED UNITS FOR ANY PART OF THE HOTEL INCLUDING THE ROOM HIRED FOR OUR EVENT AND SADLY, FOR THE WEDDING BEING HELD THERE TODAY, (SUNDAY 14 JULY) Hilton managers - you should be ashamed - get back to the floor and you try working in those conditions. Very shocked and somewhat suprised at Hilton - this is far from acceptable and I will not be using the Hilton group as preference again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Mariecollwall
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the hotel.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We are constantly monitoring the performance of the hotel against Hilton's high service and quality standards.Comments from our guests enable us to continually improve,exceed quality standards,and are vitally important in helping us achieve our mission to be the first choice of world travellers.
We do value your comments and we do hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a disgrace for the brand of hotel. Don't get me wrong the reception area is nice but that is where it ends!! On checking in we were allocated a room on the ground. Despite being a good size it smelt like a old working men's club. So back to reception we go. The receptionist said we never specified smoking or none smoking. oh yes we did. We were then allocated a first floor room. This was smaller than the first, but what a shambles. Decor very tired, dirty windows, rubbish mattress, strange room odour and the bathroom no no no. Shower didn't fit in its holder properly hooks missing off the backdoor leaving holes and water damaged bath panels. Didn't bother to complain just went out taking advantage of the weather. Ate out at a restaurant. Would not recommend at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear John
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments on this website.
As a hotel we really value receiving both positive and negative feedback which allows us to focus on where further improvements are needed.
We hope to have the opportunity to impress you if you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

room decoration tired beds uncomfortatble smell of smoking in corridors and room room service did not clean / make up beds / replace towels - until complained about. front of house very good. rooms need redecoration. public areas very good. location excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Alastair
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.
I am sorry you did not enjoy all aspects of the hotel especially the smoking rooms.
We only have a few left and we are in the process of making all of the bedrooms non smoking.
We do hope this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future as we would very much like to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Tired decor, overpriced rooms and overpriced food. mattresses that makes the argos value range look like luxury. Restaurant that runs out of the most basic foods even when they know how many mouths they have to feed. A generally poor show. Bathroom that isn't clean and has broken and flaking handles with sharp edges. Corridors smell like a care home

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Dollydude
I am sorry your recent stay was not satisfactory.
I have shared your comments with the team and wish to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I hope you will give us a chance in the future to improve as we very much would like to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Newbury Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newbury Centre

Address: Pinchington Lane, Newbury RG14 7HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newbury Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Newbury Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newbury Centre Hotel Newbury
Newbury Hilton
Hilton Newbury Centre England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newbury Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.