We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice large warm room, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Newbury North

Save Saved
You added Hilton Newbury North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newbury North
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road | M4 Junction 13, Newbury RG20 8XY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £39
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Newbury
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice large warm room, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Only stayed for one night but found a large room with cot as requested, nice and warm; didn't experience any cold or noise issues like previous reviewers. Clean bathroom, powerful shower.

Lobby is connected to the bar and is a nice atmosphere, was decorated for Christmas with a fire in the middle. Looked to have nice gym and pool facilities but didn't have time to use them.

Only negative would be paying for parking...you really don't have any other option other than to park here.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury North, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear AlexT
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
I am thrilled that you had such a great stay and I have shared all your great feedback with the team who all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    151
    107
    65
    32
See reviews for
89
157
30
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Will get it out of the way, was charged £9 for an OK glass of Rose wine!! Couldn't believe the price!

Stayed here after a day in Oxford & on our way to Southampton to join our cruise. Very easy to get to from Oxford & once in the hotel you wouldn't know you were on the side of a VERY busy road. Can't believe they charge for parking!!!

Helpful staff & a nice room on the 1st floor overlooking the courtyard. No lift so worth thinking about if you have a lot of luggage.

We had booked the package which included evening meal & had a nice meal (didn't have wine with the meal!! which is a shame as if they hadn't stung us for that one glass, we'd have had a bottle of wine with our meal. So hotel lost out there!).
Good breakfast with lots of choice.

Enjoyed a couple of swims in the pool which was big enough to swim in (not all hotel pools are!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury North, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Fue
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
Your observations and opinions are apprciated as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. The price of the wine was because it was a large glass and is in keeping with all hotel prices.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very poor experience, hotel always cold, bed and bed linen inadequate for cold weather. Drinks and food over priced and of a poor quality. Staff even complained of the cold in the public areas. The overall stay (6 days) was not to the standard I have come to expect from staying at Hilton Hotels worldwide for may years

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury North, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Colin B
Thank you for your review on this website.
As a hotel we really appreciate reciving positive and negative feedback which allows us to focus on where further improvements are needed.
Your comments have been taken very seriously and direct action will be taken where necesary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Took advantage of a HH promotion as a change from my usual stay, the hotel suits its purpose as a soulless but acceptable business/transit hotel next to the M4/A34 junction. As the title says it, it does take some nerve to charge 10 pounds for parking from hotel guests at a hotel only accessible with car, miles from anywhere, but other than this I cannot really say anything, good or bad, it is one of a dozen.

Room Tip: Sound proofing is good, I was facing the A34 but no noise came in. No lifts so if you have any heavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury North, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear andrasz
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
Your observations and opinions are appreciated as they enable us to assess the standards of our facilities and monitor if we are meeting guests needs and expectations.
I have shared your comments about the car parking charge with the management team in order to address the concern you raised.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel seems to have been built to cater to a corporate market, particularly Vodafone. It's actually a decent corporate dorm although it would benefit from a refresh, mainly in the staircase and corridors to the rooms.

The rooms itself was very good, spacious and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. I didn't sleep particularly well because of an early start and a flight, but that's not the hotel's fault.

Although it didn't bother me, I was surprised to find that there was no lift.

The location is either excellent or terrible: there's nothing there, it's a little too far to feel comfortable walking to the adjoining motorway services, but it is easy to get to and from. The bar and reception staff were helpful and the status benefits for a frequent traveller were extremely good. The early start meant no breakfast here, which is a shame, as the restaurant food the night before was decent, as was the wine.

I also paid almost nothing for the room: it wasn't a points stay, but it was a comically large discount. That definitely coloured my perception of the hotel's quality; if I'd paid some of the rates that are sometimes charged, I'd be fuming, because there is nothing about the hotel that justifies it as more than a very pleasant stopover point.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury North, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear David CF36
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
Your observations and opinions are appreciated as they enable us to assess the standards of our facilities and services and monitor if we are meeting guests needs.
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your room and the bar and reception staff looked after you very well.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

nice clean room pleasant staff good service excellent food close to sight seeing places enjoyed our stay very much would stay here again if in the area and think your bargain breaks are very good value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury North, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Campervan 67
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
I was delighted you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and were well looked after by the friendly ,helpful staff and you thought the bargain breaks were very good value.
We all look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is a very dated and tired Hilton Hotel in need of a serious facelift. The constant noise from the roads outside means sleep is a luxury, and the lack of in-room safes or air conditioning make the room a very poor deal for the price paid.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaMaggs, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Newbury North, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Wayne B
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
As a hotel we really value receiving both positive and negative feedback which allows us to focus on where further improvements are needed.
We are sorry we did not get it right for you on this occasion but we look forward to the opportunity to impress you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Newbury North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newbury North

Address: Oxford Road | M4 Junction 13, Newbury RG20 8XY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newbury
#6 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newbury North 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Newbury North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newbury North Hotel Newbury
Newbury Hilton
Hilton Newbury North England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Newbury North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.