We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to its best and better after a perfect refurb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bunk Inn

The Bunk Inn
Curridge Village | Thatcham, Newbury RG18 9DS, England
+44 1635 200400
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bunk Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 145 Restaurants in Newbury
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Welcome to the Bunk Inn, a traditional village pub full of charm and character situated just moments from Newbury Racecourse, minutes from Highclere Castle and just over an hour from London. Set in the beautiful village of Curridge, the 9 warm and stylish rooms are each equipped with flat-screen TVs, tea/coffee facilities, free Wi-Fi and en-suite bathrooms. Head Chef Lewis Spreadbury is earning rave reviews for his carefully crafted seasonal lunch and dinner menus offering traditional pub classics and more refined dining. A full breakfast menu is also available daily. A superb selection of real ales from nearby Upham Brewery are on offer alongside a fine choice of wines and champagnes. The pub itself is easily accessible from the M4 and is ever-popular with locals, holidaying couples and families, business travellers and, of course, race goers. Both Reading and Oxford are a short drive and the pub offers ample free on-site parking.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Back to its best and better after a perfect refurb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This wonderful village pub has had an outstanding refurb and the atmosphere , food and service are all you could ask for. We called in after a friend told us of the refurb meaning just to have a drink but ended up staying for the full Sunday lunch. The beef was magnificent served by some of the most friendly and enthusiastic staff we have come across and at great value. We have visited this pub many times years ago and they have managed to maintain the traditional village pub atmosphere complete with log fire whilst adding a light modern bar area. We will certainly visit again and soon
Mel and Linds

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub, gastronomic surprise, great! great! great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went because a friend said this pub had had a complete refurbish and was worth a try. I went about 3 years ago and said I wouldn't go again, so imagine the surprise when we had the best dinner I have had around Newbury for ages. The starters we varied and all looked good, but we're better than good and we all enjoyed them, the main course was exceptional and "pudding" was scrumptious. If you are a bitter lover the Tipster from Upham Brewery was a front runner! We will be going again and have already told friends how good it was.

Mark and Caroline

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everything a village pub should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having visited the Bunk several times under previous management and in recent times been bitterly disappointed, we decided to try it again after it reopened recently. We dropped in for an 'early doors' beer on their first Saturday. We were only there briefly, enough time to have a couple of drinks (sadly) but were very impressed. The fact that the place has been refurbished beautifully in a way that brings an informal yet classy touch in keeping with the village pub theme is a good start, but a pub is all about the people and the atmosphere - and there was plenty. It just felt like the heart of the community - on day 5 after opening - an impressive start!

Despite not being true locals (we live 5 miles away), we liked it so much that we returned tonight on our way back from a shopping trip. We turned up just after 9pm and when we asked if the kitchen was closed were reassured it was fully open and no hassle at all. We sat in a low comfortable settee in the bar and looked at their snack menu (on a blackboard). We were just about to choose from this, and the waitress came over and gave us a couple of menus from the restaurant to widen our choice.

We chose our food (buffalo burger and a cauliflower and stoney cross cheddar tart) - both spot on, scrummy and well presented.

After two visits, there is one central theme that stands out for me - a very warm and friendly welcome. This matters to me a lot as it reminds you why you go out, rather than stay in and is often sadly lacking in so many pubs and restaurants.

We will definitely go back. I said to my wife as we left tonight - "let's make the Bunk our 'non-local Local!"

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We turned up on Thursday after they had opened on Tuesday. A friend had heard that they had opened and wanted to give it a go so we decided to do lunch. There were four of us and we booked half an hour before we turned up. When we got there, it was clear that the place was freshly refurbised, some of the clues being the smell of fresh paint and the workmen's bags left hanging around.

When we arrived, there was no clear recognition that we had actually booked. As it happened, it wasn't important as there was plenty of space so we picked our table and sat down. As we did so, three out of four of us had the (fixed) cushions slip off the chairs we were sitting on. Perhaps a little more care would have been required over the finishing touches. After sitting down for a few minutes, it became clear that the table next to us were very loud, so we moved to the front in the conservatory area and were perhaps then off the normal radar of the serving staff.

We were presented with menus with no explanations. While the menus said lunch and featured a range of boards, sandwiches and baskets, it was not made clear whether the selection of 'doorstop dishes' on the blackboard were also available. We asked, and apparently they were all available, as were a selection of 'classics' we had failed to spot on the brief transit through the bar to our table. The dishes on the menu were 'brunch-like' and there to be mixed and matched. But none of this was clear from the menu, nor was it explained to us without further questions.

We eventually decided on a selection of their tapas-style dishes and a couple of good old-fashioned burgers. A burger is, after all, a good benchmark for any decent pub. In the meantime, we asked for one of their bread boards which came with balsamic and rapeseed oil. The bread, which was tasty, turned up in a basket, with no oil or vinegar and didn't seem to correspond to any of the options available on the menu.

When the food arrived, it was disappointing. While the sausages were good (and coming from the local farm shop, there is little to go wrong), a fiver for a couple of sausages cut up on a plate with relish seemed steep. The crackling was deep-fried and bland, the rabbit (I'm told), was 'fine' and the same applied to the sprats.

The burgers were presented nicely, with a skewer of guerkins and pickles and a little pot of very nice coleslaw. Unfortunately, although we had asked for them rare (which they were unable to do) they were at best medium on the inside and char-grilled on the outside. The rolls had also been over-toasted, adding a burnt flavour to the whole dish.

Added to this was the fact that the service was slow virtually without fail, we had to go and chase up drinks and condiments at least twice, if not three times. When asked for our opinions at the end, the waitress apologised and said she was still training some of the other staff, while at the same time acknowledging some of the omissions were her own.

They've only been open a couple of days so I'm happy to give them a break and go back again once they're settled in. Hopefully there will be improvements!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bunk Inn also viewed

 
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Bunk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bunk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.