We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - a little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Thai

Studio Thai
102/A Bartholomew Street | Newbury, Newbury RG14 5DP, England
+44 1635 31333
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Studio Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 153 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Street Food
Description: newbury berkshire
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow - a little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We ate in the Studio Thai last evening and were blown away with the food, ambiance and attentiveness given to us by the staff. It was a little quiet, being a Thursday in Newbury (Newburyites will understand!). But from the moment we went in the door we were treated really well without feeling pressured by the staff. I have had some bad experiences of Thai food but this has rekindled my enthusiasm. The chicken satay was very good and the lamb dish that followed was the best Thai I have tasted - extraordinarily tender meat beautifully flavoured. A two course meal with a bottle of good red wine was £48 for two - excellent value for the quality and quantity of food served. Well done to all in the Studio Thai.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    11
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Favourite Thai in Newbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Although relatively new, this ha quickly become our favourite Thia restaurant in Newbury. It's not cheap, but the food is delicious- it knocks the socks off the other Thai restaurants in town, even though I would still say these are still good. The big window means it has a very fresh and airy feel; my preference would be to sit downstairs rather than on the mezzanine level.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I have eaten at Studio Thai with my husband a few times and the experience has always been excellent. The restaurant is in a renovated high ceilinged building with exposed beams, decorated in a calming muted green, with artworks from local artists on the walls. Sue, Dhivya (the owners) and the staff are friendly and extremely hospitable. They are very flexible, expertly adapting the dishes for vegans and those with dietary restrictions. The food is fresh and delicious and nothing is too much trouble. Truly a gem in Newbury. I recommend a meal at Studio Thai followed by a film in the intimate cinema at the Corn Exchange which feels like a friendly private club.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tom Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I love thai food and this is as good as it gets in Newbury. We get take aways from here and eat in. The food has been consistently good every time. The service is always friendly too.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai food and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our favourite food is Thai and for many years were forced to go to a Thai restaurant in Andover as it was nearest place.

Bit like buses, Newbury now boasts 3 Thai restaurants and in my opinion, Studio Thai wins hands down - for the quality of the food and friendliness of staff,

Sue, the owner, works hard to keep up the high standards and like any excelllent restaurant they also listen to their customers.

For starters, for the first visit, look no further than the mixed platter - fantastic combination and some of the best I've tasted.

For mains, too many to mention - all the favourites are there, feel free to ask the staff as they will happily point you towards a dish to suit your tastes

Like all good Thai food, the freshness and flavours of the ingredients burst through. From my experience Studio Thai is a bit hotter than other Thai restaurants. Fantastic for me, but if you prefer it with a bit less heat just say and they will happily oblige.

My personal favourite, Larb ghai - a minced chicken salad with ooddles of chilli and lime.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio Thai also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Studio Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.