We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - shame about the room without a sea view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tall Storeys Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tall Storeys Hotel to your Saves list
Tall Storeys Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   131 Longwestgate | Old Town, Scarborough YO11 1RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location - shame about the room without a sea view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant couple of days in Scarborough, staying at the Tall Storeys. It is exceptionally well located, on the hill, near the castle, a short walk down to the harbour - and also a short walk to the main shopping area - peaceful yet near the hustle and bustle of the foreshore. Scarborough is a glorious mixture of elegance and vulgarity - fabulous views over the two bays - many lovely places to walk - and numerous restaurants where you can consume fresh locally caught fish - and (if you like) mushy peas! We found the 55 fish restaurant particularly good - unpretentious and family oriented. The hotel itself is comfortable, walls adorned with many scenes of Scarborough, good breakfast - the room smallish with a small shower room. The only downside of our stay at Tall Storeys was the lack of a sea view room, which we had booked, but owing to a mistake by the owners was no longer available when we arrived - an error partly excusable since they had taken on the hotel only a few weeks earlier.

Room Tip: Check you are getting the room you booked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
122
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently visited this nice little place as we love travelling to Scarborough and wanted to try somewhere new. It was our first time here, and certainly won't be the last. I will break the review into parts, summary then covering location, building, room and the staff.

Its a couple who run it, who told us they had recently taken it over. Morna made us feel at ease and couldn't have done more for us to make our stay enjoyable. They were both extremely friendly and there was no awkward silences which you sometimes get when its not busy, which it wasn't on our stay.

It is located in a quiet street, 2 minutes walk from sea front, which is quite an odd sensation that you can be in total peace in your room or the nice garden decked out with solid chairs and table, and walk down to the front and your in the tourism central. There's boat rides, gorgeous views and the arcades, cafe's and usual sea front attractions. If you get chance, walk down to the lighthouse during the evening. The reflections of the seafront looks beautiful, a sure camera moment.

The hotel has a very subtle smell from the scented sticks in the hallway that my girlfriend actually liked so much she asked and went out to buy! Smoking is not allowed anywhere and so that's always good, plus you have the fresh sea air a windows-opening away. There is a communal lounge which we were the only ones that used it on our stay. It had a couple of plugs available for us to use our laptop on, and a free fast WiFi point so we were on-line to email and Facebook and whatever else. The garden, which was looking very nice with plenty of flowers and plants, and big enough to sit comfortably with a couple of decent sized groups. Its not big enough for ball games, but I wouldn't have liked that anyway. We wanted peace, and peace we got.

The breakfast consisted of 3 bowls of various fruits to choose from, yoghurt, cereals, toast, jams, honey and fresh orange juice. Then there was a beautiful full english breakfast. Often in B&Bs or hotels, breakfasts are skimped on & use the cheapest stuff which tastes awful, this however was beautiful. Ian certainly knows how to cook it well, and we were asked every morning what we wanted. Small things like having free range eggs, and not half a pound of fat hanging off the bacon - again the quality. The sausages were really good too. I've probably forgotton a bit of other food available, but there was decanted coffee and fresh orange juice which we both enjoyed too.

Our room had a sea view, and of the harbour and had a 4 poster bed which was a first for me. Very comfortable and no springs sticking up your back and so many pillows that we both took one off, but some people may prefer that. The en suite bathroom was small with a shower and toilet with small sink, my only problem was finding somewhere to put all my toiletries, so I kepted most in the bag while not in use. The shower was nice and warm within a second or so of water which was great..

The room was a nice temperature and the window had a security bit so nobody could fall out! In the past we have visited several places that have been too hot or too cold, so being able to control the radiator and window opening a wide way was definitely a boon, especially as it was sunny and we struggle to sleep in the heat. It also had a flat screen TV with loads of channels, alarm clock and several DVDs to choose from. We also had the usual tea/coffee/hot choc and complementary biscuits and chocolates every day.

The place also had a clean and tidy conservatory where a couple of cats clearly preferred to reside. One of them was very playful and loved to be stroked, despite being unknown to me, quite happily rolled over and purred while I tickled him. Its small things like this that made us thoroughly enjoy the place and feel at ease.

Morna and Ian are both very nice people who have obviously got their heart in this place. They were doing everything to make our stay as nice as possible, while not being over bearing or fussy. We were given a card for parking which gave us ability to park anywhere in the zone. My advice would be to take a parking spinner card so that on your last day you can stay an extra couple of hours in the morning if you fancy a last walk around after you've cleared your room out. It is very well kept, clean and tidy everywhere and very difficult to fault.

Aside from the limited space for toiletries, the only other bad bit was that our stay had to come to an end. We will definitely be back, and look forward to it very much Indeed.

Room Tip: higher up obviously has the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The host Ian could not do enough for us. We had a good nights sleep in this lovely place. The view of the harbour was worth coming all of this way. A good night was followed by a good breakfast and Ian telling us what was worth seeing in the area. This was definitly a place I will return again to.

They have another happy customer.

Paul Davies
MBM ltd

Room Tip: Ask for the Harbour view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed there in September for one night. Unbeknown to us we arrived on the motor cycle weekend. So we were lucky to get this room. The hosts were very friendly as well as very informative, recommending a new Italian ( Antons) restaurant by the harbour, it was good too. Neither of us had been to Scarborough, so the information was very helpful for our stay. The house is in a Victorian style with lots of interesting china. The house has an aura of history , but with all modern expectations. Very clean and tidy with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and would have loved to stay longer. Friendly and welcoming hosts, knowledgable about Scarborough and its attractions. Lovely room, with a view of the harbour the South Bay and way beyond. Excellent location, close to the castle and harbour. Delicious and generous breakfast. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My visit was a last minute business trip to the North Yorkshire area in August so I wasn't expecting to find any decent accommodation. How lucky was I in finding Tall Storey's! The breakfast made such a welcome break from the usual places I stay- fresh cooked to your requirements and so well presented. Can't wait till I have to visit the area again, I know where I'll be staying!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

2 night day stay at Tall Storeys provided the ideal location to tour coast as well as walk to all main Scarborough attractions. Genial hosts enhanced the visit, providing useful local info on restaurants, theatre and other attractions. The room was beautifully presented and set off the stunning view over the south bay and down the coast to Flamborough Head. The other important ingredient - the breakfast - was all that even the most discerning would have needed.

A great establishment for our short stay and well worth the recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tall Storeys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Storeys Hotel

Address: 131 Longwestgate | Old Town, Scarborough YO11 1RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Storeys Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tall Storey’s is Grade II listed Regency period town house that has been sensitively renovated to retain many period features. Situated in the Old Town overlooking the harbor and across the South Bay it is a couple of minutes walk from the harbor, sea front and town shopping centre. Bedrooms feature either four poster or half tester beds elegantly decorated to provide cozy, intimate surroundings. Vegetarian, vegan and special diets catered for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tall Storeys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tall Storeys Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.