We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, superb value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarence Gardens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clarence Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Clarence Gardens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4/5 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant, superb value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

From the moment you walk in Paula and Paul make you feel at home and valued. Nothing was too much trouble, the room was clean and comfortable and had a tremendous view out across South Bay. The choice for breakfast was one of the best I have seen bar none, with a good choce of fruit, cbeese meat etc and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    60
    16
    12
    16
See reviews for
43
71
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a superb hotel for the money my husband and I stay here every time we visit Scarborough. The hotel is run by a husband and wife team Paula and Paul and they must have been at the front of the queue when they were handing out excellent customer service; as they really do out of their way to ensure all guests have a pleasant stay

The rooms are not huge and nor are the en-suites but they are clean; and if is anything is a miss or you want any thing extra for your room i.e. extra teabags you only have to ask and the hosts are more then willing to help

The price for the rooms and it is for the room not the person is very reasonable, and for an additional cost you can have a freshly cooked breakfast to order or a continental breakfast with unlimited tea or coffee

I can not believe the reviews I have read on this web page the people that are posting these comments should really ask them selves have I paid top price for a luxury hotel or if something was a miss did I raise it with the management and give them the opportunity to rectify it

Value for money and some

Room Tip: Rooms on the fron offer fantasic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This B & B looks lovely from the outside but when you get to the room. It was very very dated! its was not dirty but looked very shabby and old! Family room was like a box! People where very nice but would never stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night thankfully! The room we stayed in was disgusting so small! The "EN-SUITE" as they described it was filthy it smelt of urine and we had to put towels on the floor to protect our feet! We only stayed because we had paid as we were asked on arrival! The bed linen looked clean so we reluctantly stayed but would never stay again and anyone that stays here just be warned it is dreadful!!

Room Tip: sea view if you are so desperate to stay in this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

spent 3 nights here from 29th june. Paula&Paul give you a 5star service,from the minute you arrive until you leave. have a problem with my knee and paula moved us to another room after one night so i did not need to use the stairs. I would never have asked but she came and offered me a room change. Which i was so grateful for. rooms are lovely, breakfasts are charged extra but the choice is good, and a good quality of produce, unlimited tea,coffee,and fruit juices,cereal fresh fruit, for a charge of £5. This as paula told me is budget accomodation, in my opinion it is way above that, and is one of the best B&B i have stayed in.
look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is an excellent guest house in a fabulous location in Scarborough. The rooms are clean, cosy and with the comfiest bed ever. The owners cannot do enough for you and you are assured of a very warm welcome. One of the four legged guests even settled down to her own breakfast of scrambled eggs - very impressive! This will definitely be the place to stay for all our future visits in Scarborough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Me and my partner stayed in the guest house for two nights and it couldnt have been better. The room was spotless with a comfy bed and a beautiful view of the sea in the morning. Paula and Paul went above and beyond and even printed some tickets for us. Lovely people and cant do enough to help!

The price was really good, the location was perfect and we will be back, hopefully soon!

Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarence Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Gardens Hotel

Address: 4/5 Blenheim Terrace, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarence Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarence Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.