We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old fashioned tea and scones” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonnet and Sons

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bonnet and Sons
38 Huntriss Row, Scarborough YO112EF, England
01723 361033
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 279 restaurants in Scarborough
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Lovely old fashioned tea and scones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Found this by chance on my last afternoon - lovely tea, complete with teapot and hotwater. Scones gorgeous. Also lovely selection of handmade chocolates which i just had to buy. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    27
    25
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very average food at a very average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

A large group of us called in for lunch and overall concluded that just about every dish was extraordinarily average.Some more so as a particularly mean dish of pasta missing any Parmesan as listed on the menu ,some more pleasant as one vegetarian was reasonably pleased with his dish.All in all found the staff and food average.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service every time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited Bonnets twice during our visit to Yorkshire. Nicely presented and good quality food, fast and friendly service but we felt it was a little pricey for lunch (almost £9 for 2 small crab cakes, lemon mayo, salad and homemade fries). However the kids meals were very good value and included a drink and dessert - all freshly prepared, not your usual frozen chicken nuggets.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“very traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I visited Bonnets on Sunday 11th August. I was looking for somewhere not serving chips and Bonnets fit the bill. I had 3 young children with me and we had suitcases with us having left our hotel and on our way to the station. We were tempted in by a board outside advertising sunday lunch. One window was mouthwatering with hand made chocolates. There was a counter service restaurant downstairs and a waitress service upstairs. We chose to sit downstairs having cases with us. At the counter i ordered roast chicken dinners for the children. The chef came out and reassured me that the chicken would not be served in wine as on the menu. the meal arrived quickly and was very good. The meal was enjoyed by all the children. I had a jacket potato with creamed mushrooms and salad which was also excellent. This is a true find and we will return. The food was excellent, good value, the staff were very friendly and the surroundings very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice afternoon tea, staff conversation not appropiate!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Popped in for a coffee and cake on late in the afternoon. Both very nice and the lady serving was very friendly.
However one member of staff that was near us updating the menu board was spaeking very loudly to other staff member about very inappropiate subjects, baring in mind that paying customers are dining and may not want to hear " who is currently sleeping with who"!
I will go gain as it s nice place just tarnished slightly by this hopefully singular incident.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonnet and Sons also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bonnet and Sons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonnet and Sons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.