We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best chips ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Fish

Cafe Fish
19 York Place, Scarborough, England
01723 500301
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 300 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $41 - $103
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Possibly the best chips ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

On walking in we were not sure where to go till the manager showed up and helped us out. Bit of a wait for a table and the manager took orders next to the bar which is the waiting area. After getting a table we were given water and very nice bread and butter. Food arrived in good time and looked fantastic. The batter isnt as good as i'd hoped but chips were very nice and portion size is very filling. Make sure you are hungry if you are eating here.very good value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    74
    20
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food let down by restaurant manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Ate here as a group of 6 people on Saturday 14 June for a friend's 30th birthday while we were in Scarborough on holiday.

Firstly I would say that everyone really enjoyed their food and that the choice of fish dishes on the menu is great - it was actually really hard to choose as there were so many lovely choices! However if you dont like fish or steaks then it is a bit limited. I called a few weeks before our trip to check if they had other choices available if people didn't like fish, before we decided to book a table, and was assured that they did various non fish dishes including a range of vegetarian options. This is not strictly true as the 'vegetarian' option on the menu is "chefs selection of vegetables and cheeses'! Bit odd. They do one chicken dish and then a few steak/beef dishes. One of our group had the chicken as there was nothing else she liked and it was very nice, but just a bit annoying when your choice is made for you because there aren't other options. Not a big issue though really given the rest of us all like fish.

On our arrival we were told to go to the bar area until our table was ready. They like to take your order from this area before they take you through to your table, however we were not told this so had not looked at the menus much - we only had 2 menus available between 6 of us and a couple of us were just browsing it to pass the time really. The manager then came over and asked if we were ready to order (which we weren't because we had not been asked to look at the menu!) - he then made a bit of a song and dance about us not being ready which was unnecessary and just annoyed everyone! His attitude was just very aggressive and abrupt and there was no need for it at all. He then attempted to pressure us into ordering starters which we didn't want, and when we said so he went on about it taking 45 minutes for the food, especially because we had all ordered something different (we didnt really see why us ordering different choices makes any difference). Also after each of us told him what we wanted, he asked if anyone else wanted that dish - he did this after each person which by the end was getting extremely irritating!

If it had not been a special meal for my friend's birthday, I think we would have just walked out. It really was that bad and completely offputting for everyone. I felt responsible because I had chosen the restaurant and was expecting it to be a disaster and ruin my friend's birthday so I was quite upset by his attitude.

However, the food was really good and everyone enjoyed it thoroughly - thankfully! The waitress who served us was great (young girl with dark hair) and we made sure that we checked who got the tips (shared between the kitchen and waiting team - not given to the manager!)

Cost is quite reasonable for a fish restaurant as fish is typically quite pricey - most main courses were around £15-£18 each.

I would recommend Cafe Fish overall as the food was great, but just be prepared for the manager to annoy the hell out of you before you get to escape to your table!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Ate here on Saturday with three friends, wonderful food and knowledgable staff who go the extra mile. No wonder it's so busy. With a friend who doesn't really like fish but lots of other stuff on offer too. Angelica particularly helpful, great wine list too.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks, England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of the nicest meals for a long time..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The food was absolutely gorgeous. King prawns for a starter were the nicest I think I have ever had-better than Majorca, Croatia.....

Mains of lobster/scallops and steak with blue cheese sauce. Again-heaven on a plate!

Desserts-toffee pudding and lemon curd sorbet. Very nice.

Only slight niggles (and they are slight!)...not enough room in the welcome area to sit for a pre-dinner drink and only one menu for us to read. Maybe a tad squashed in too, but had worse table arrangements.

Staff are overall great, odd bit of training would help, but 90%.fantastic!

To sum up-awesome food, excellent value and would highly recommend. We hope to be back sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We were last at cafe fish for the Xmas set meal which we enjoyed greatly. This was an opportunity to see what the ala carte menu was like. Whilst this is known for fish it did have a good selection of none fish main courses but the choice for starters was extremely limited if u didn't like fish and in our party of five there was one person who did not eat fish so did not have a starter. However their steak was over cooked as were the chips, on. Y meal I had king scallops with bury black pudding. I have been told by several people this is the best black pudding but I found it to be dry and over spicy I don't know why they don't go to a local butcher who makes their own black pud much better and my scallops were over cooked. The veg was dry although one member of our party enjoyed a special of salad with half a lobster. Whatever our experience I would recommend people try this place cause when it's on song it's great but not for us tonight.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fish also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.