We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent we go back again and again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Fish

Cafe Fish
19 York Place, Scarborough, England
01723 500301
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 279 restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $41 - $103
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent we go back again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Myself and my husband came upon Cafe Fish one weekend as I am a seafood fanatic. The food is simply amazing, we try to go back at least once year as we live in Leeds so its a treck for us. We'll be there again this weekend for our wedding anniversary. Cant wait!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    261
    65
    14
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“food glorious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went for a group meal not expecting anything special but wow! his food is to die for! it is the same owners as when I went and you simply have to go to understand what I'm raving about!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Catch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Visited as part of my Birthday weekend in Scarborough. Without doubt the best meal of the weekend. Starters of King Prawns and Broth followed by Mains of lobster with Scallops in garilc butter and Haddock rolled and filled with lobster with srimps on a bed of Salmon mash with a Thermador sauce. Just enough room for the Lemon Curd Sorbet. We were left feeling full yet wanting to enjoy it all over again. If you love fish, like great service and atmosphere and are visiting Scarborough book a table at Cafe Fish. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“the catch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Reading most of the reviews the catch is you ether love this restaurant or you hate it. After our visit on a cold grey day in Scarborough I'm with the former. It certainly has character and they don't come much larger than life than William the owner. It's a lovely room in which to have dinner ,if a little on the "shabby chic" side, but as the first customers of the evening we enjoyed our role as window sitters to pull in more punters. A great choice for most fish lovers and the complimentary salmon pate was lovely along with a top notch salad. The house wine we had was just right both as an apperitif and with our main courses. My wife enjoyed her fish pie and whilst my main of rolled sole was not quite outstanding it was tasty and nothing to complain about. Good value, great staff and great company -William

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great return visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We ate at Cafe Fish last Friday evening, having booked a table for 7pm and turned up to be greeted and offered a seat in the bar area, and order drinks whilst we looked through the menu. The owner, William was 'cruising' the bar and offering advice on choices. He is a real character, very knowledgeable, and clearly loves his offerings - something I like, and find his suggestions, which he can tailor to your specific wishes if you want , very helpful in making your visit special.
We were shown to a nice window table, and our starters arrived shortly after. We both had the fish soup, my partner just had a cup, and I had a plate with the cup, plus a roasted oyster and a small lobster filled fish cake - both tasted great with the sliced fresh bread provided on the table. After a suitable short period to enjoy the excellent white wine we had chosen, our mains arrived - my partner had monkfish fillet stuffed with chorizo and wrapped in bacon, and I had sole fillet stuffed with lobster, they came with a small platter of freshly cooked vegetables, both were pronounced excellent - the sauces in particular complimenting each dish. Relaxing as we finished the wine, we scanned the desert menu and decided that we were just too full to do justice to any of the interesting offerings, but settled for a serving of the ice cream to share.
By this time the restaurant was almost full of people who clearly know where to come for an excellent fish based meal! We left satisfied and will certainly recommend and return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Fish also viewed

 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cafe Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.