We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay New Southlands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bay New Southlands Hotel to your Saves list
Bay New Southlands Hotel
West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £83
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Christmas break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just returned from a great Christmas break at The New Southlands, We were self drive and on arrival found our reserved parking space (worth every penny) There is a definite wow factor when you first enter reception, not often found in this price range. We had upgraded to a premier room, 218. as it was a Christmas treat and we weren't disappointed, the room was spacious and clean with very modern fixtures and fittings. The bathroom was very big, with contemporary fittings and a separate bath and shower, although the water pressure was very poor which made it quite difficult to use effectively, with the addition of a power shower it would be 5 star. The food was very well cooked and the servers eager to please, it is the first time I've heard no complaints throughout the dining room at a Shearings hotel. The evenings were spent being well entertained and in the company of some lovely people. So, to sum up, this hotel is beautifully fitted out and immacculately clean. The staff were to a person very friendly, industrious and helpful and yes we will return. Be aware though that it is a fair hike into town but the cabs in Scarborough are very reasonable

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
What lovely comments you have left for us, thankyou:-). I will be sure to pass these on to my staff. We had a lovely Christmas and I know that including myself a lot of my staff enjoyed chatting with yourselves as well as the other guests who all seemed to have enjoyed themselves. We are looking forward to another successful year and hope we will see you here again soon. Thanks again and all the best for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    107
    41
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
145
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

stayed 14 dec 2012 had a great weekend break entertainment every night this hotel has been put back into bay hotel after the disastrous coast and county with relaxed entertainment ha i have stayed at this hotel many times but stopped going after we spent a terrible weekend when it was coast and county we only went back when it was put back into bay the concert room was full and so was the bar we might be getting on a bit but we still like a good laugh and to be entertained and as long as it stays like this we will be back going to the norbreck on the north side of scarborough went here a few years ago will give review on this hotel

Room Tip: any room on south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to leave your comments. I am so pleased to see that you decided to come back and stay with us again and that you enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully it wil be the first of many more breaks that you spend with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon at the New Southlands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

3 night stay bb and evening meal great food staff ace beer great bed lovely 3 nights of sound sleep entertainment good staff great hence nice tip 2nd time there will be back again no pool  or fitness room  sea not far sway keep fit going up and down cliffs

Room Tip: over tv room awy from entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to leave your comments for us. I'm glad to see you had another enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

just returned from a mid week break at this hotel ,our second in six weeks .we had a fantastic time both times ,the room was superb ,warm ,clean,spacious and nothing was to much trouble for the lovely staff there.we asked for softer pillows if they had any,and when we returned in the afternoon there were four lovely feather pillows for us heaven slept like logs.no noise of any kind.all the staff from top to bottom are fantastic they can't do enough for you .you only have to ask once,they are a credit to the hotel and i hope they are appreciated.the food was lovely hot and tasty with a huge choice for all.and all this for such a bargain price we don't know how they do it,but were glad they do .see you all again soon THANKYOU.

Room Tip: we can reccomend rooms 201 and 319
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
It was lovely to see you again so soon, it's always great to see familiar faces:) I am so lucky to have a fabulous team working here, and I agree that they are a credit to us. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments and we will hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Another wonderful shearings holiday. The hotel is really smart, having had a recent refurb. As always staff helpful, food good. We had room 109, twin bedded. It was a lovely very large room, only problem was a really cold bathroom for some unexpainable reason, as we had a heated towel rail. Apart from that the room was very clean beds comfortable. The entertainment was great had a good laugh. Enjoyed all 3 evenings. Good location, easy walk into Scarborough.

Room Tip: rooms 109 and 110 twins very roomy but very cold bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I'm so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, and thankyou for taking the time to leave your comments for us. We're always so happy to know that our guests have enjoyed themselves and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottesford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked a long weekend at this hotel through Shearings and at £99 for three nights dinner bed and breafast, four free drinks from a comprehensive list per day, and all travel including a trip to Pickering and York we were a little apprehensive. Well we nnedn't have been, from the moment we were welcomed on the coach by the drive until when we arrived home everyone was very helpful and pleasant. The room at the hotel was spacious and warm, plenty of hot water, big towels and the room was kept spotless. We were allocated a table in the dining room for all of our meals and our waiter was very obliging. The food was always hot, well cooked and well presented with good portions and a varied menu. The entertainment was OK and we had a pleasant time in the evenings. The trips out were very good and we visited Whitby, Helmsly, crossed the North Yorkshire Moors, Pickering and York. For £99 this must be one of the deals of the century.

Room Tip: We had room 319 which was quiet, warm and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to leave such lovely comments for us. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your short break with us. We are lucky in the location we are in as we have the beautinful coastline as well as the North Yorkshire Moors which are always stunning to travel across not matter what time of year you visit. I will make sure that your comments are passed on to my staff and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

stayed here for four nights, enjoyed every day food.staff.entertainment were exellent all very friendly, all work extremly hard to make your stay pleasant would go back to this lovely hotel no problem, thankyou all for looking after us.

Room Tip: stayed in room 301 very cosy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thankyou for your lovely comments. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were well looked after. I'll be sure to make sure these are passed on to my staff, they are always happy to know that guests have enjoyed their holiday with us, and I hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay New Southlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.