We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pete & Linda long weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay New Southlands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bay New Southlands Hotel to your Saves list
Bay New Southlands Hotel
West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pete & Linda long weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

After having a less than pleasant stay earlier in the year at the the Shearings Beresford Hotel in Newquay (we actually left after 4 days of a weeks holiday), this hotel restored our faith in Shearings self drive holidays. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break here.
We found the Hotel clean, the staff friendly and helpful, a good slection of food that was always hot.
You have to equate the cost of the holiday with what you get with a Shearings holidays and we thought this was good value.
The entertainment was typical Shearings but we spent our evenings talking to new friends we had met in the bar. The free drinks vouchers compensated for having to pay to reserve a car parking spot (£5 per day).
We are already planning to return in February.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor (nobody above us), facing a quite side street rooms 302-312
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback for us. It's great to see that uou have already planned to return to see us:) I am lucky as I have a great team here and i will be sure to pass on your commetns to them. We look forward to seeing you in February.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    116
    43
    13
    5
See reviews for
31
161
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from staying for the weekend. I have to agree with other reviews about the food. We do not expect gourmet dining but they should at least serve the food hot. The breakfast was what we expected and was adequate except for the watered down orange juice. The room was not any different from other Shearings hotels. The main problem was the heating in the room which was cold all weekend despite the heating being on. The last time we stayed here we had a front facing room which was warm. This time we had a room overlooking the car park and after speaking to other guests it seemed that these rooms were not as warm as the others. We also had to pay for parking the car which has been included in the price in the past, the hotel no longer provides street parking permits. We can now understand why it has been downgraded from a coast and country hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overloking the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I'm sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I will certainly discuss the issues you have raised regarding the food with my catering team. We do unfortunately have soom rooms which may be colder than others simply due to the fact that they are more open. The rooms at the front which you mentioned you had stayed in previously are more sheltered due to the buildings surrounding us. The car parking charges have been implemented in a lot of of our hotels, both Bay and Coast and Country and has no reflection as to why we have been changed to a Bay Hotel. I hope this won't deter you from using Shearings in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

a well run hotel staffed by friendly and obliging people,we are regular visitors and decided upgrade for this special weekend,well worth it a large comfortable room with a good sized bathroom.Food as always very good with several choices,breakfasts that set you up for the day ,excellent swift service from the restaurant staff.very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for leaving such lovely comments for us. I'm glad to see you enjoyed another break with us and that you were pleased with your upgraded room, they are worth paying that little bit more for. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to my team and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Shearings are cheap and cheerful usually but they are taking it to extremes these days. Every spring could be felt in the mattress, and ours wasn't the only one being mutterred about. Very apologetic at reception (but no way were they shelling out for a new mattress in the near future). I'm not talking about renewal a few weeks overdue-at least a year. They have always been hot on portion control but the two minute potatoes and tea plate sized dish of veg was almost laughable-how the waiting staff can keep a straight face is beyond me. Cheese & biscuits consisted of either two or three TINY squares of cheese and two or three crackers-as with porridge portions varied from waiter to waiter. Don't start me on the watered down coffee. Personally I would have complained and asked for more but my partner doesn't like a fuss and stopped me, I will agree that we shouldn't have to beg for a decent dinner! We all want cheap weekends away but oh dear, either them or us are going to have to up the stakes.

Room Tip: Inspect the mattress, many are long overdue for replacing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I was dissappointed to see that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I will be reviewing the comments you have made with my team, as we do pride ourselves in offering a high level of customer service. I can see from your review that you didn't say anything at the time of your stay with us, but I can assure you that the if you had, they would have been looked into with a view to improve the rest of your stay with us. It is hard to rectify any problems that guests may have had once they have left. I hope that this will not put you off visiting Scarborough again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

owning my own holiday flat in scarborough i do not use hotels. along with guests of the hotel our group spent many good nights being entertained by mr defoe and co.
alas what seemed to be a change in policy, new but unsuitable furnishments were introduced making about a third of the seats facing away from the artistes and a so called relaxed style of entrtainment was introduced.
believe me most of we oldies are up for a bit fun and have more than enough relaxation,so i suggest the SOUTHLANDS management has a rethink of their entertainment menu.
thank you
LORD JAMES
OF KINCAVEL

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. As part of the Coast and Country brand our Entertainment programme was indeed changed to be more relaxing and the layout of the Entertainment room reflects this. Daniel Defoe whom you mentioned was indeed an excellent host, and moved to our sister hotel when we changed the entertainment programme several years ago. However we are now part of the Bay Hotel group and since October have introduced a more varied Entertainment programme. Thanks again for your thoughts and please feel free when you are next staying in Scarborough to call in and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

visited oct 2012 the staff are great nothing too much trouble plenty breakfast and you can have extra potatoes with evening if you ask Hotel very clean close to supermarket and buses to bridlington bathroom had shower with no bath

Room Tip: 3rd floor alot of wind noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to leaveyour comments. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though it was quite a weekend. I am very lucky to have a great team of staff working for me, and I 'll be sure to pass on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Returned to the New Southlands in September after a great stay last year, unfortunately this year wasn't as great.
The food menu has changed, not as much choice as before, although the food was good there wasn't as much choice and variety, very plain.
The room was very small - no bath, just a shower although was clean needed a good dusting in the higher areas and also in the draws.
The hotel offers free wi-fi - however not available above the 1st floor - we were on the 2nd floor so unless we wanted to sit in the middle on reception we couldn't access! The gentleman that served us in the restaurant every day - Richard - was brilliant, he served us with a smile every morning for breakfast & every evening for dinner, a great asset to the hotel.
Not sure if we will return again next year, it is a great base with friendly staff but need to look at the basics to make sure everything is covered.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - they are a lot bigger & if you need wi-fi access you need to be on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I was dissappointed to see that you hadn't enjoyed your stay with us as much as the previous year. We have been going through some changes lately including running a summer menu with the option of an A La Carte menu alongside. We have now gone back to the Table D'Hote style menu that you would have had previously.
As always, we do look at any comments left by our guests albeit here on Trip Advisor or via our Comment Cards at the hotel and will act accordingly, looking into any areas of concern as well as passing on praise such as the lovely comments you have left about Richard.
I hope that you will consider returning to us next year, as we do value our regular guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay New Southlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.