We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm comfortable stay - can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lonsdale Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lonsdale Villa
Save
You added Lonsdale Villa to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Lonsdale Road, Scarborough, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm comfortable stay - can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just back from a lovely stay at the Lonsdale. I went to the Stephen Joseph Theatre which is an easy 15 minute walk away. Both Jackie and Grant were very friendly and ensured I had everything I needed. The weather was cold but my room was very warm and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The Lonsdale is in an excellent position - it is a lovely picturesque walk into town with wonderful views and plenty of places to eat in the evening. When next in Scarborough I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just had a lovely short stay at the Lonsdale Villa. The hotel is spotless and has an excellent decor, Jackie and Grant are very helpful suggesting walks to take, and excellent hosts. The hotel is a short walk to the centre and 2 minutes from the beach. I have stayed at this hotel several times and hope to return very soon. Many thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lovely, welcoming and very clean guest house. Jackie and Grant very friendly and excellent hosts. Lovely walks long or short from Lonsdale. Went to Olivers Mount and stopped in cafe for coffee and cake!! Definitely see you again in Spring and already recomended to friends.
P.S Just noticed recent review from "moonfox". Cannot believe their comments but I think everyone elses first class reviews speak for themselves!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have just had a wonderful 2 night stay.Wonderful accommodations, great atmosphere
Jackie and Grant are so friendly. Amazing breakfast and a really beautiful room with free WIFI
Thank you, I will be back in May.
Jacinta Salahuddin

Room Tip: I was in room 5, street facing so so quiet excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This guest house is spotlessly clean but thats about it.......very poor breakfast choice for the cost of the holiday.
Didn't feel very welcome and would not return...owners may have possibly had an off week but it is not somewhere i would recommend....felt that the whole approach was about money rather than having an enjoyable holiday, just seemed that you were a hinderance to put up with and for what they charge felt like we could have been made to feel more welcome

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie H, Owner at Lonsdale Villa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
This is a very difficult Management Response to write as I have no idea who “Moonfox” is, and I have no records of this reviewer having stayed at The Lonsdale Villa. The only information I have regarding “Moonfox” is from the Trip Advisor profile-a female aged between 50 and 64 years that lives in Scotland and stayed at The Lonsdale Villa in May 2012, and travelled as a couple.
Every Guest is asked to complete a Registration form on arrival. I have checked every one of our Registration cards for 2012; we didn’t have a couple that stayed in May 2012 from Scotland. In fact the only couples we had staying from Scotland were on 6 August 2012 (with a young child), 17 August 2012 (again with a young child) 27 August 2012 and 17 October 2012.
I have no way of contacting the Reviewer other than through the Trip Advisor messaging centre. I sent two very polite messages to the reviewer expressing my concern over her comments and asked for the name the booking was made under and the exact dates of her stay so that I could prepare a full Management Response to her comments. Both messages have been acknowledged though the details I requested regarding her name and the dates of her stay have not been forthcoming. I also expressed concern to the Reviewer that if their stay had been so terrible (out of the 6 categories we were given 4 “terrible” ratings) why nothing had been said at the time and why if they stayed in May 2012 it took until January 2013 (8 months later) to post a review .
I am unable to take this matter any further as I have no means of contacting the Reviewer, other than through the Trip Advisor Messaging Centre. Unfortunately I can’t do this as after sending my two polite messages “Moonfox” has blocked me from sending any more messages to her through Trip Advisor.
Please “Moonfox” will you do the decent thing, reveal your identity and contact me either through the Trip Advisor Messaging Centre or through the phone number and e mail address given on our website and supply me with your name and the dates you stayed so that I can look into this matter further. If this information is not received I can only conclude that this is a review that has been inadvertently posted on the wrong property. Anybody reading our reviews can see that this review is entirely inconsistent with all of the other reviews posted.
There is nothing more that I can say.
Jackie Hull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This clean well kept accommodation has friendly proprietors who provide an excellant choice of cereals at breakfast it is not far from the spa and the south bay and we will definitley go back again soon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just had great two night stay at this spotlessly clean guest house. This was our fourth visit and as usual Grant`s breakfast was first class, along with everything else, service , friendliness and nothing too much trouble. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lonsdale Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Villa

Address: Lonsdale Road, Scarborough, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lonsdale Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lonsdale Villa is situated in the picturesque South Cliff area of Scarborough. We are ideally situated for The Spa Conference and Entertainment Complex, golf, Olivers Mount, Stephen Joseph Theatre, Italian Gardens and University. Scarborough town centre, the Harbour, University and other attractions are within easy walking distance. We are two minutes walk to The Esplanade. The local bus passes the Guest House and we are only 5 minutes walk to Filey Road bus stops which serve places further afield. Unrestricted street parking in a disc free zone. We have 10 en-suite rooms including 3 singles and a ground floor double. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lonsdale Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.