We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tricolos

Tricolos
36-37 Newborough, Scarborough YO11 1NF, England
01723 367842
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 308 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Service and meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I went for a meal at Tricolos early December and the place was buzzing, a full restaurant and the staff were most attentive. We had a steak which was cooked to perfection, how often we both find when asking for "rare" that the meat is delivered as medium, simple but so often wrong. I would not hesitate to go back and would recommend anyone who likes quality meat cooking just the way they want it with pleasant staff and a can do attitude to pay it a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnny150, Owner at Tricolos, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Many thanks for talking the time to review Tricolos Restaurant, your comments are important to us and your compliments very much appreciated by the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    131
    63
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited this restaurant whilst on a weekend break for my husbands birthday. This was our first trip to Scarborough so we don't know the area. I booked this based on the reviews and wasn't disappointed.
We found it tricky to find parking, but this was probably more to do with not knowing the area.
We have 2 kids (7 & 3) and Italian is the one food we all agree on! Everything was lovely, nice portions and not a bad price. The staff were lovely but seemed a little busy. We arrived just at the end of happy hour and the place was very busy. However, we didn't feel rushed at all, and the service was fine.
If we do return to Scarborough we would be happy to come back here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnny150, Owner at Tricolos, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Many thanks for talking the time to review Tricolos Restaurant, your comments are important to us and your compliments very much appreciated by the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food and good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have visited this great restaurant several time over the past couple of years and have always found the staff to be very efficient and friendly. The menu is wide and varied and there is always something tempting on the specials board.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnny150, Manager at Tricolos, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reliably fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have been to Tricolos over a number of years now and always have a great time. The food is fantastic and great value for money, the staff friendly and the atmosphere relaxed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnny150, Owner at Tricolos, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Many thanks for talking the time to review Tricolos Restaurant, your comments are important to us and your compliments very much appreciated by the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service, poor ambience due to music selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had a great meal with friends whilst on weekend break in Scarborough. Food and service second to none. Decor in restaurant really good, like eating outside in Italy! However, choice of music wrong for ambience, too loud and CD's kept jumping etc. Advised duty manager and he said would be getting better selection, which in view of £250K refurb, would procvide final touch to a great restaurant

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tricolos also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Tricolos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tricolos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.