We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quantity not quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Dragon

Red Dragon
121 Falsgrave Road, Scarborough, England
01723 369099
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 308 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quantity not quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We went to this restaurant while on a recent break in Scarborough as Chinese is my husband's favourite food.The service was fine and polite, you are limited to 4 starters between two people and can only order 4 dishes for the main meal to begin with.The lemon chicken just had lemon juice squirted on, no sauce, rice was plentiful but all the other dishes we tried were very bland and tasteless. Because of their rule about not leaving dishes you feel obliged to eat them even if they are not so nice! Certainly not a place I would go to again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    31
    10
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We took family with us on this visit to the Red Dragon, who had not been before and they thought it was very good value with plenty of choice.
The only thing that was mentioned is that they noticed that the waiters were sometimes talking in their own language and then looking at certain tables and laughing as though they were poking fun at some of their customers, probably just looked like they were.
We will certainly be visiting in September when we are back in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great as always.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have visited this Mongolian Buffett restaurant for many years and never ever been disappointed.
The food is very good because it arrives in very small portions which permits trying out lots of different dishes.
The only down side is possibly the noisy small children which can occasionally be overwhelming during the evening 'happy hour'.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Wow had my birthday meal here on Tuesday. The staff are so friendly, they were so good with my 4 year old.
The food is excellent and there is plenty of it too. Fantastic value for money!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sadly Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have always loved Red Dragon, even when I lived away and always returned there for a treat. I went a few weeks ago with my mum and left utterly disappointed with the whole meal. The Satay chicken starter tasted like very reconstituted chicken (full of water and not full of taste), the duck was crispy but to the point that it cut my mouth and we left most of it. the main courses again tasted like reconsituted meat, very little real flavour and one dish which was meant to be mushroom and beef had no beef in it!!!

we complained to the staff and were assured that nothing had changed so they were unsure why we would be unhappy, only to be told by another staff member that there was a new chef in, so they clearly contradicted themselves. they didn't charge us for the duck, but our meal was still a whopping £26 which was sadly £26 wasted as we didn't enjoy the meal at all! I have been hesitant to comment on here as I have always loved Red Dragon, for many many years, but now would not step foot in the place as I think it's just gone s down hill. Sorry Red Dragon but this has needed to be said as the quality has diminished!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Dragon also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Red Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.