We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long time favourite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Grid

Golden Grid
4, Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PE, England
01723 360922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 308 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
middlesbrough
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“long time favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I have been going here for a number of years when I am in the area and although I have tried I cannot seem to get passed the dressed crab salad which never disappoints (although I was tempted with the seafood stew on this occasion I still went back to my old favourite). Beautifully presented it was almost a shame the short work I made of it. Husband had a huge portion of fish and chips which he loved.
Good service and a great view across the harbour.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    134
    60
    46
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“NEARLY KILLED MY TODDLER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

went today at about 13:00 ordered 2 large cod and chips and one childs fish fingers. The fish and chips were ok a bit bland and overpriced to be honest. But when I took a small piece of my childs fish finger to dip into my sauce I noticed 2 quite large bones in just one mouthful and to top it off she was borking with one in her mouth. Thankfully I got it out but I was horrified at what could have happened. I went to pay the bill after informing the waitress to be greeted by the manager who thaught he was charging me for the childs meal. Well I told him in no uncertain terms I was not. He was not happy about it and never even appologised. Discusting behaviour

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Popped into here during a weekend in scarborough,was served quickly by excellent staff. I ordered the whitby scampi and my partner had the veggie lasange,my plate was FULL when it arrived,proper chip shop chips and loads of scampi with a salad and coleslaw,so much i couldnt finish it.! Would definately come here again on another visit to scarborough

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“" chips "”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Agree with Jon about chips whether it's the type of potatoes or they have been reheated i can not say but fish was lovely and staff were great . Toilets were clean but been upstairs, was a bit of a climb.Would go back the next time I go to Scarborough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We are staying in Whitby for a week and came to Scarborough for one of our days out. We only wanted a light lunch so choose this place, we ordered a jacket Potato with tuna, soup of the day with a toasted baguette and a cheese sandwich.

The jacket Potato was microwave cooked and hard in places and the tuna straight out of a tin, no seasoning or mayo . The soup was tomato I think a jar of passata and a tin of chopped tomatoes were reduced until tart and thick so much it made me squint and the baguette was half of a pre bake one you get in a supermarket. And finally the cheese sandwich was cheap value line bread with grated red Leicester cheese, no pickles or chutney was offered. This was all accompanied with a pot of tea for three and came to a extortionate £21.50, I would have given it one star but the staff were pleasant.

Overall find some where better there's lots to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Grid also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Golden Grid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Grid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.