We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular restaurant, efficient service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Grid

Golden Grid
4, Sandside, Scarborough YO11 1PE, England
01723 360922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 279 restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Popular restaurant, efficient service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Giolden Grid is an extremely popular restaurant. A table in the window upstairs is ideal - it overlooks the harbour - but difficult to get. The service here is friendly and efficient. The fish and shellfish are FRESH. We had lobster salad. The lobster was very good indeed. There was a lot of salad but it wasn't very interesting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    119
    97
    47
    40
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had Golden Grid recommended to us by family but we were dissapointed. We ate in the middle of a week day so was quiet. I had scampi which was not very impressive for a restaurant on the sea front. My partner had fish which he said was nice but that weekend we discovered much better else where. The service was ok and quick. The portions were big. The restaurant was clean and spacious inside. An average fish and chip shop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Decent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We ate at the Golden Grid on a busy sunday lunchtime on a visit to Scarborough.The wife had the fish and chip meal with a pot of tea,I went for crab cakes in a chilli sauce with salad.Although the restaurant was full both upstairs and down the service and the food were of a very good standard.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We ate at the Golden Grid on a busy Friday early evening and the waiting staff were a bit stretched but service was still fine. The Fish and Chip deal with a pot of tea and bread & butter was good value and the fish was great although the chips could have been a bit crisper. We had puddings too which were pleasant enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great service..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Were here for a celebratory meal, a party of 16. The service was excellent, the waitresses were friendly and helpful. I had the fish and chips (what else in Scarborough?) which were delicious - even though the skin was left on the fish! The prawn cocktail starter was unbelievable - never seen so many prawns in one dish!! My husband had to leave unexpectedly after the main course for a while, and the waitress was more than happy to warm up his pudding when he got back. We had a lovely position in the bay window overlooking the harbour and the tables were nicely decorated for the occasion. Couldn't have been more welcoming or friendly. Would certainly go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Grid also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Golden Grid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Grid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.