We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foxhound Inn

Foxhound Inn
Main Street, Flixton, Scarborough yo11 3ub, England
01723 890301
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 304 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Filey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Visited once again for fathers day this time. Food consistently good and well presented. Massive portions. Service good. Be sure to book to eat in this place. Very popular and as locals, highly recommended

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    52
    16
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Massive Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Despite looking a little run down inside The Foxhounds is lovely. Food is good and staff are normally cheery and friendly. Whenever were up this way we always pop in to visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We enjoyed the food so much we went back the next day to eat again!!

A few things I'd like to say tho': Yes - the portion sizes are huge! I ordered a "small roast dinner" beautiful, tender meat, fresh veg and a battered parsnip!!! :-) We really enjoyed it, but struggled to clean our plates: we felt bad and wasteful leaving part of it.

We decided to go back the next night, but was reluctant to order a main. We had a mixed meat salad and decided to play it safe and share, it was again beautifully presented and unbelievably huge! I just question ..why so large portions? Sometimes it's true... Less is more! We would have been very happy to have less food for the same price and might even have ordered a pudding or starter?

I felt we missed out not being able to enjoy the starter and pudding menu :-(.. I don't mean to be negative, I just can't understand it, that's all!

Please go along and try out the beautiful food but don't eat anything that day!! Maybe share a main course, then you can kenjoy a starter and pudding!! :-) The service was excellent too :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Decided to see what all the fuss was about! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I'd heard so many good reports about this place, mainly in reference to the portion sizes that decided to try it ourselves.

Despite it being busy Sunday lunchtime, we managed to get seated almost instantly, no waiting around. Ordered a starter to share followed by the giant Yorkshire pudding with mixed meat. Wow! The meat was tender and plenty of it. Delicious meal all round.

The waiting staff were efficient & friendly, always busy as there seemed to be a constant through flow of people. Will definitely be back!

Only negative for me, is the car park. The bays are tiny with barely any room to manoeuvre in or out. It was absolute carnage trying to get out! Needs more space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice, will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We went for lunch today and we will be back again soon. Good value for money and good quality pub food.
I wasn't sure what to expect as our last few attempts at eating out have not been good experiences.
The meals are very large (don't think I will be having any tea). One thing my husband always moans about, is portion size. He couldn't finish his meal their was so much. He really didn't want to leave it as it was nice but he couldn't eat it all.
My husband had a mixed meat salad, with a portion of chips. I had a steak baguette with onion rings, side salad and chips. Both meals were very nice and very filling and massive portions.
The waitress was very friendly and nice. The Lady behind the bar was not as friendly, which to start with made us think twice about ordering food. But glad we did.
We ate outside in the beer garden as it was a sunny afternoon. We came early in the afternoon just about opening time and while we were there,their was a steady stream of people coming to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foxhound Inn also viewed

East Ayton, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Foxhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxhound Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.