We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food nice surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brompton Forge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brompton Forge
Brompton, Scarborough, England
01723 859409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 308 Restaurants in Scarborough
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fresh food nice surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Although living in the area for some years we have only just happened upon the Forge. We have since been back for breakfast (the sausages from the 'real' butchers round the corner in the village) are scrummy and for tea with proper home made cakes. A delight for the tastebuds and a disaster for the waistline! Service is very much with a smile and the actual place is nice to sit - either at table or more informally in the armchairs. We have added the Forge to our list of places to go when I'm feeling to lazy to cook.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
boliqueime
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Was impressed with the location and outside but the food did not come up to expectation.
The Crisps served with the Beef sandwich were a little old .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not Impressed At All !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you advertise your opening hours as 10am until 4 pm , if someone walks in at 3.25 pm for a bowl of soup and a drink , you should not say "I've turned every thing off in the kitchen so I can't make you a drink " because roughly translated that actually means " I can't be bothered, please go away ". So that's what we did , we left .
All the wonderful coffee or award winning hot chocolate is worth nothing if you can't be bothered to serve people . We were in catering for over 40 years and if we had taken the attitude of the young woman in the kitchen at Brompton Forge , we wouldn't have lasted 5 minutes - if you don't want trade after 3.25 pm , don't advertise your hours as open until 4pm because that's just dishonest - won't be going back again and will never recommend .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best coffee for miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited this morning for a coffee. As usual, the coffee was excellent - the quality is always consistently high. Service good - you're given time to have a look at the menu, the coffee is hot and we would recommend the Bakewell tart: it's first class!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

After spending what seemed like all afternoon looking for a nice cafe around the Scarborough area we stubbled upon the Forge at Brompton. What a treat. The food was fresh, the place was spotless, and the staff friendly. It was very quiet when we there which is a shame because this place certainly deserves to be visited.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brompton Forge also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Seamer, Scarborough
 

Been to Brompton Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brompton Forge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.