We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and outstanding service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of tuscany TOO

tuscany TOO
6 Filey Road, Scarborough yo11 2sd, England
01723 355 900
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 268 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $29 - $56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good food and outstanding service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I went with two other pensioners, one of whom is exceptionally old, dislikes anything foreign and loathes tomatoes despite never having tasted one. We went because it was convenient and had an interesting menu. The food and ambience was exactly as other reviewers have described so I'll not repeat that.
We arrived on a Monday without a booking but soon after the restaurant opened; it was not too crowded but in an hour or so it was very busy indeed. Service was provided by just one waiter who managed everybody in an apparently effortless way. As they say of great sportsmen 'he/she made it look easy and appeared to have all the time in the world'. Such professionalism is not so common in the less swanky restaurants in England. Moreover, he managed to charm and relax my elderly companion and helped her to choose things that she would like and in the smaller portions that she needs. I cannot praise too highly his skills. 'tuscany TOO' is an outstanding little place and it's well worth finding it: up the Filey Rd., a mile or so out of town.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    56
    12
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best restaurant in North Yorkshire?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I have visited this restaurant for the last 10 years and the overall service has always been excellent. However, after a revamp of the menu, the staff surpassed themselves on our visit w/c June 13th. The front of house staff are uniformly pleasant and efficient; the kitchen staff produce a variety of meals of the highest quality. The fillet steak with 'house' cream sauce was so tender it barely needed a knife. Absolutely brilliant in every respect!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I eat here two or three times a month, so obviously I think that this is a good restaurant.
The standard menu is large, there's considerable choice, and there's a smaller changing specials menu.

The food is really well cooked, the service is magnificent. On weekday nights there are only two staff, on weekends three, but they glide round this busy restaurant in a quietly charming efficient way, the two main waiters are a class act.

Only one caveat, the house wines, they're a bit rough, a better choice of wines by the glass and this place would be still better. I like this restaurant, you will too.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft Suffolk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“excellent food, attentive service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

This restaurant was mentioned by our guest house owner as we required some where close to accomodation as couldnt walk another step (cleveland way in a head wind, yes, that wind) Tuscany too was great, reasonably priced and superb food. Would have gone again but ran out of time. Not somewhere I would have taken young children as mostly populated by couples and older family groups.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The food and service was excellent! Would certainly recommend.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tuscany TOO also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to tuscany TOO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage tuscany TOO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.