We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left before we even ordered.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marmalade's Restaurant

Marmalade's Restaurant
Beiderbecke's Hotel & Restaurant, 1-3 The Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2PW, England
+44 (0)1723 365766
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 308 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: British, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“We left before we even ordered.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The pictures on the website are not of the actual restaurant. The actual restaurant is shabby at best and looks like its been haphazardly put together on the hotels dance floor. The staff were friendly but the menu was dreadful (with many spelling mistakes). A band was setting up shortly after we were seated so we just left.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    5
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Bit overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We called here one night in July , I had Patte starter and steak main , my partner had Patte Starter and Chicken main , although the meals were quite tasty I thought they were a little overpriced, the staff were very efficient and friendly and the restaurant itself was very nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Steak night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Friends of ours have an apartment in Scarborough and whenever we visit we try to incorporate a visit to Marmalade's. Our favourite night is Thursday when they not only have the steak offer but also a very good band playing. The offer is a steak, always high quality and cooked to perfection, chips & various trimmings plus a choice of several very decent house wines for £30 per couple. Service is invariably excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

loved all didn't dislike anything service was great was my dads birthday gave them a cake and candles which they brought out after our meal as a surprize , the food is really good we had a meal both nights we stayed there none of us could fault it

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A very happy stay at Beiderbecke's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a long weekend away earlier this year to recover from a stressful time at work. We chose Beiderbecke's because we had stayed before and found the hotel very pleasant indeed and the restaurant an unexpected bonus. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and comfortable and looked out over the Crescent. On both nights we dined in the restaurant and had exceptional meals. I booked us in for Steak night on the Friday after checking they would be able to accommodate me as a vegetarian! Basil made some suggestions and I left it to him and was not disappointed. We allowed him to choose the wine and were equally happy with the choices he made. We had a superb evening and felt it could not be bettered. On the Saturday night we dined there again and, if anything, the food and wine surpassed the previous night. The background jazz also makes a really special addition to the atmosphere. We would rate both nights' meals as among the best we have had anywhere and Basil is a superb host who really knows how to make you feel welcome. I would recommend the hotel and the restaurant unreservedly to anyone wanting a break in Scarborough who wants to be near the attractions but in a quiet, elegant area away from the bustle.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade's Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Marmalade's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmalade's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.